Baked Maryland Lump Crab Cakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2012
Now that's a crab cake! I grew up near the Chesapeake bay myself in Virginia, and I must say this is the best crab cake recipe I've tried on here. I took the advice of another review and added 1/4 tsp cayenne pepper; it gave it that extra "kick" that my family loves. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2012
This would have been a five star review, however, this was my first time working with lump crab meat, and I had no idea you had to drain it and pick through it for shells. Therefore, they were a little wet. Overall though, the flavor was great. I only baked them 20 minutes total and didn't turn them since they weren't holding together. Also, I used 2 beaten whole eggs instead of egg substitute.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2012
Wow, this is a great recipe! I'm not originally from Maryland, but have lived here for 28 years and have developed a keen appreciation for a good crab cake. These are really, really good. I followed the recipe exactly using Panko break crumbs, and I wouldn't change a thing...except for the implied size and "turning them over" aspect of the instructions. I made them large and dome-shaped, and did not flip them. I got five reasonably-sized cakes from this recipe, and my native Maryland guest LOVED them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2012
This were so tasty for being baked! I used imitation crab and will not remove stars for that, however, they are probably even better with real crab. The consistency of imitation crab made clumping a little more difficult- but they did hold together. I put mix in the fridge for a few hours before cooking and that may have helped.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by faithirene

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2012
We live in Maryland and can verify this is an authentic recipe for Maryland crab cakes! Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2012
Delicious - I followed the recipe except used Best life spread and whole eggs (3 for 3/4 cups) Make sure you spray the cookie sheet good of they will stick. My husband hates crab cakes because they often have too much filler - This was a winner with him! This recipe only made 7 cakes if they are a good size (more of mounds than flat patties)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2012
After trying crab cakes, for the first time in my life in 2008, at G & M Restaurant in Linthicum Heights, MD, nothing else I've tried has come close. I guess that's what happens when you try the very best version of something first! This recipe comes closer to that genuine Maryland flavor than anything I have found. I have made these a handful of times, inculding a version for crabcake slider sandwiches for a party, and they always turn out good. The key is to precisely measure ingredients, make sure your oven is set correctly, and chill in the freezer while the oven preheats. I usually do a bake/broil combo on these, and I form mine into loosely packed baseball sized ball, and DONT flatten or turn while cooking. I just spent the better part of an hour trying to find this recipe again, because I lost the printed copy I had, and stupidly didn't save it on here! Thanks for the great recipe!( Oh, and it will make a difference if you use margarine instead of real butter.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ClumsygirlAsh

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Reidsville, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Eden, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2012
Okay. The best part of this recipe is baking the crab cakes -- I've had crab crumb cakes when I've used recipes that fry. However, not sure I am sold on this recipe, part of the reason maybe that I ended up using seasoned bread crumbs [I would not do that again, way too many (competing) spices when you factor in the recipe's spices too.] But, there are many people here who've enjoyed this recipe, so try it. The other change I made was cutting the cooking time, I did about 9 minutes per side. I would may even go 7 minutes per side. To your health . . .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2012
This is delicious! Even though I had to substitute quite a bit because I need to go shopping, it was still yummy! Here is what I did just in case someone else wants to try replacing some things! Had no baking powder- left it out! Had no parsley- left it out! Had no butter (yeah I know!)- put in a bit of light cream and cream cheese Had no worcestershire- put in a splash of soy sauce and about 1/8 cup of French dressing Put in two eggs instead of egg substitute as others suggested I lightly rolled the cakes in a few more crumbs just to give the outside a nice crisp Everyone loved this, even the little ones! Will definitely put this in my "crab" rotation! Tum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Orlando, Florida, USA
Living In: Tampa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2012
I too am from the Chesapeake Bay area and your recipe was similar to G&M's crabcakes. I put a twist on it. All you need do is mix 3 T Hellman's Mayonnaise with 1 to 2 T finely minced green or red pepper, 1/4 t dry mustard, 2 1/4 t French's mustard, 2 t Old Bay or to your liking, a dash of worcestshire and one beaten egg or 1/4 c of cholesterol-free egg product. Pour mixture over large lump crab meat and gently fold til incorporated. Place rack 2nd step down from broiling element, heat oven to broil and place crab cakes (5) on pan brushed with olive oil. Broil 10 minutes and Viola`, best crab cake you ever had. Took 1st place in a crab cake cookoff last year. The 1 T of red pepper which added color made all the difference in the world. Try it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 191) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Best Ever Crab Cakes

Delicious, homemade crab cakes that come together quickly.

My Crab Cakes

These crab cakes are simple to make, but rich and memorable.

How to Make Crab Cakes

See how to make a cakes recipe that really shows off quality crabmeat.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States