Baked Maryland Lump Crab Cakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2013
Amazingly good! I only made one change by using 2 eggs instead of egg substitute. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2013
FAR too watery to make a lump! I wonder about the "3/4 cup egg product".... was she perhaps using POWDERED or dried eggs? I got "Crab Soup" and would up making a "Crab Casserole" in a piecrust. It was..... unusual, but I'll be switched I throw out a pound of lump crab!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2013
Really, really good! We cut the crab with some imitation both to save money and to get rid a bit of the fishy taste, worked well. Other than that made as is and followed suggestion to refrigerate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2013
Well this became an instant favorite with my husband. All her tips seemed to be what made them come out so delicious, chill, don't form into flat cakes, keep loose and light. The flavor was just wonderful, Thank You for sharing this recipe !!!! P.S. I wouldn't change a single thing about this recipe, you'll destroy it !!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2013
I followed the review #23 because it seemed more like a Maryland crab cake. I did not bake, but broiled. The first 5minutes I broiled on high then lower broiler during the last 5 minutes. Absolutely delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2013
Easy AND delicious! Received lots of compliments.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2013
Just barely acceptable; too much egg made this a bit rubbery and egg-like; the flavors were just OK. I didn't see this in the recipe, but the flavor was very much improved when served with lemon wedges.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2013
I wanted so bad to think that this recipe was going to be "the" crab cake recipe but it fell short. The flavor was so-so and the cake itself was dry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ande16

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pleasanton, California, USA
Living In: Carmel, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2013
Thanks for this recipe. I made the recipe once w/o the Old Bay and it was OK. But thanks to 'LynsieC' for her review about the 'Maryland" style crab cake because this made me realize that is not what I want. But I came back and used this recipe as a guide and made changes-so if you're still interested keep reading: omitted breadcrumbs because I eat towards a no-lo carb (diet) and higher quality fat. Added 3 tbsp coconut flour. Didn't have Old Bay so I searched for the ingredients list and used every spice in my cupboard that I had. Of the Old Bay list I didn't have cardamom or ground bay leaf and omitted celery salt and flakes because I sauted celery, onion and green pepper to add to recipe. Added dash of thyme. (All 3 veggies amounted to approx a cup) While sauteeing I added 2 bay leafs and removed before incorporating into meat. I went with two eggs. I tried the muffin pan method and tho not disasterous, I will not try again because they stuck a bit. I made 8 thick cakes with a pound of canned pasteurized crab. I salted 'by eye'. My crab cakes were amazing with the right amount of heat and I will never change this recipe. I tried the Aioli suggested and tho too mayonazy it went well w the cakes. I will be looking for a diff. recipe on that sauce. As with many recipes -if you're not a regular cook-don't expect great results. People who cook a lot have methods and techniques you almost can't put on paper. Here for example-my Old Bay substitute.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2012
I live in the Mid Atlantic area and allot of people boast about their crab cake recipes. I will say this one you can say is pretty darn good. I use this as my base recipe when I make crab cakes. I get about 5, 4 inch round, 1 inch think cakes from one pound of lump crab meat. The are very rich but so good. thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 186) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

My Crab Cakes

These crab cakes are simple to make, but rich and memorable.

How to Make Crab Cakes

See how to make a cakes recipe that really shows off quality crabmeat.

Crab Rangoon

Wontons are stuffed with cream cheese and crabmeat and baked crisp.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States