Baked Maryland Lump Crab Cakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2010
I am from Bowie Maryland and this crab cake recipe is extraordinary, except only use approximately 1/2 teaspoon Old Bay Seasoning or crab seasoning. Otherwise, your crab cakes will be too salty! Good luck.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2010
These were OK but I have to be honest I didnt love them. I dont know why..I think they were a little bland. I browned them in a pan a bit before baking (the mixture was very wet) and I just wasnt thrilled. I will try them again another time to see if they taste different in another batch. I think they just needed something like celery or red pepper, something crunchy..I added a little lemon juice and made a tartar sauce for the side
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LOVESUBLIME

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2010
Ok I have lived in MD for over 15 years now and have always used the Old Bay recipe or the recipe on the container of crab. This recipe is AWESOME and totally blows those recipes away. Not so much filler and just enough seasoning. This tastes just like the crab cakes at certain restuarants that are famous for their crab cakes (and costs so much less and I know what's in them!!). I am to a point now where I just don't even bother ordering crab cakes outside of MD - they just aren't the same!! If you are looking for real Maryland crab cakes, look no further (and splurge for the jumbo lump crab - definitely worth it)!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2010
These are absolutely excellent. I've made these 4 times already and they get great reviews. So easy to make. I use 2 eggs instead of egg substitute. Also I cut the old bay down to 1 tsp to reduce the saltiness. I followed another user's recommendation and put the crab cakes in the refrigerator for 20 minutes before baking - and it really made a difference. Love love love this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2010
these were absolutely wonderful, I used egg whites instead of full egg product. The batter was a little runny, but who cares...the taste was phenomenal! Oh, I also cut down the cooking time to about 20 mins total....Wonderful job and thanks for posting the recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Darby, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2010
love it! So easy to make and the eggs help keep it together while baking!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2010
So, I wasn't a great fan of these. I thought they were too dry and didn't have a lot of flavor. With that being said... I do have to admit that this is the first time I have ever made crab cakes and I have only had crab cakes at really great restaurants for the last few years while living in Virginia. I used canned crab meat and maybe that was the problem. I also used whole eggs, I think it was 3 that made 3/4 cup. Those were the only things I changed so I'm not sure if that was what made the difference or not. Just not a fan..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathy Spencer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lovettsville, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2010
I'm a huge fan of crab cakes and it is sooo hard to find a good one. This is the easiest and BEST I have ever tasted!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2010
Excellent. Big hit at my party.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Danielle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2010
tasted good but didnt stick together
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Parksley, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 187) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

My Crab Cakes

These crab cakes are simple to make, but rich and memorable.

How to Make Crab Cakes

See how to make a cakes recipe that really shows off quality crabmeat.

Crab Rangoon

Wontons are stuffed with cream cheese and crabmeat and baked crisp.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States