Baked Maryland Lump Crab Cakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2010
absolutely delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookinwife

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2010
So easy and very delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Louisville, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2010
Although I was born and raised in MD and still live in the Baltimore area, this recipe was my first attempt at making crab cakes on my own. After reading a few reviews, I chilled the mixture for about 2 hours, then shaped into baseball-sized cakes and baked for 15-20 minutes at 350 degrees F. I omitted the baking powder just because I didn't have any. They came out moist with just the right amount of crispness on the outside! My husband rarely comments on a meal, and after his first couple bites he stated "these are pretty good!". To get a comment like that from him, makes a recipe at least 4 stars in my book!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Annapolis, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2010
Simply perfect, wonderful flavor - the only thing I would do different next time is not to cook longer than 20 minutes total (10 on each side) to keep them moist. It's nice to find a great tasting BAKED crab cake recipe. Excellent recipe, I'm so glad you shared this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2010
I followed the recipe exactly and these were as close to the real deal as I've eaten in Maryland. To get the real taste of a Maryland crab cake, the best lump crabmeat should be used. They were easy to make and a treat to eat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dogodigger

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New York, New York, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2010
Very good recipe! So easy! I tried to put them on tinfoil to have an easier cleanup, but they stuck, so I just greased a pan well and put them there after I flipped them. Other than that, followed the recipe exactly and they were great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by abapplez
Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2010
Excellent Recipe! DH came home with Lump Claw Meat due to the cost ($21.00/pd vs 11.99/lb) and these still tasted fantastic. Used 2 eggs in place of the egg substitute and also lightly breaded with Panko before baking. Topped with a quick Lemon Aioli. I will reduce the Old Bay a little next time due to the salt but there were no complaints and many compliments. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by abapplez

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Annandale, Virginia, USA
Living In: Spotsylvania, Virginia, USA
Photo by Sheryl
Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2010
Great taste even with frozen shredded crab meat (In the middle of Germany there is no chance of fresh crab meat, it is frozen or canned. I had to go to an Asian store to find any crab meat at all... even the fish market did not have it!). I will make these again. Thank you to everyone for all your helpful comments that made my crab cakes so successful! I did make a lot of changes, hence the 4 stars instead of 5. I added spring onions like it recommends in the My Crab Cake recipe, used fresh parsley and mustard instead of dry, used Ritz crackers in the mix instead of bread crumbs, coated the crab cakes with bread crumbs after forming into patties, refrigerated patties for 1 hour before cooking, fried them in a pan with olive oil until brown on each side then put the entire pan in the oven at 350°F (170°C) for 10 minutes afterwards (my crab cakes were very moist due to the frozen crab retaining so much water and the normal mustard I used, so 10 minutes may be too long for your mixture).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sheryl
Living In: Munich, Bayern, Germany

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2010
Followed the recipe to the letter, a little too moist.I am originally from Maryland, these crab cakes are just like the ones I had growing up. The baking powder helped to keep them light and fluffy. Even my very picky sister loved these. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chevy Chase, Maryland, USA
Living In: Scottsdale, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2010
Made these for a family party, I needed a double batch, so I decided to make one batch with fresh lump crab meat and 1 batch with the can crab meat, no one could taste the differeance between the 2 batchs, they both turned out excellant. I replaced 2 eggs for the substitute and they came out perfect
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Havertown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: West Palm Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 187) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Best Ever Crab Cakes

Delicious, homemade crab cakes that come together quickly.

My Crab Cakes

These crab cakes are simple to make, but rich and memorable.

How to Make Crab Cakes

See how to make a cakes recipe that really shows off quality crabmeat.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States