Baked Macaroni with Pepperoni Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2013
Followed the recipe but only thing I did different was added cheese during the last 15 minutes of baking. The added cheese on the top made it super cheesy! Casserole was delicious and hubby loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2010
After reading the comments, I made a few adjustments to this recipe to use up some leftover pepperoni. I used real garlic, but did the salt and pepper and onion powder to taste as in the original recipe. I used a tall can of Hunt's Italian Tomato Sauce and a tiny can of Hunt's Tomato Paste. I only had Medium Cheddar and mixed a bit into the casserole, but reserving most of it to scatter on top along with some shredded Parmesan. Based on a tip I learned from having Honduran, Japanese, and East Indian roommates in my college years, I threw in a tbsp or two of white sugar. it helps take the edge of hotter dishes, tomato dishes, etc. I do that in my meat sauces, lasagna, etc. Mixing in some kernel corn worked out to be a nice compliment. I only baked this for 30 minutes at 350F. My family liked it and I'll be making it again with these modifications, though I'd like to find a slightly milder pepperoni sausage than the one I had on hand. However, that's personal taste. This is a nice change of pace, filling, and tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2010
Excellent!! I'm already thinking of ways I can change it up--diferent cheeses, different meats, veggies...SUPER EXCITED!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by theheat01

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2010
I enjoyed the flavors of this dish even though I agree with a lot of previous reviewers that there seemed to be too much tomato paste in it, and it was pretty dry inside. I made it exactly as written, using sea salt for the pasta water and sea salt and ground white pepper for seasoning the dish. It was "done" at 45 minutes, but the cheese inside wasn't quite all melted, and there was quite a bit of tomato paste that didn't disperse throughout the dish. I did enjoy the whole thing for meals over three days, but if I were to make this again, I'd skip one of the cans of tomato paste and/or add more tomato sauce or even just some water. It was pretty tasty, but not quite perfect as is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2009
Alot of people commented that this recipe was bland but ill tell you how you give it a great twist... Sounds discusting but its very good...after you cook the noodles mix in italian dressing, mayo and sugar to the noodles before mixing with other ingrediants. Its very good...I left out the onion/garlic powder
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2009
Had to change it a little but then it is a keeper. Used a recipe for 4 servings, used a bottle of spaghetti sauce, eliminated the tomatoes and tomato paste, used sharp cheddar as shown, substituted Mexican cheese for the other cheese, mixed pepperoni with all other items, added some parsley, thyme, and herbs de provence and a pinch of all spice. Mixed everything together in a buttered casserole, add cut up pepperoni on top with Mexican cheese sprinkled on that, covered and cooked 45 minutes. Delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2008
My son loves this dish. I use pizza sauce instead of the tomato sauce and paste. It's fast and easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2008
This is at the top of the list for my husband's favorites...so I give it a 5! My picky 6 year-old liked it also...he usually doesn't like anything...my 11-month-old also liked it! I did not change a thing to this recipe. Soo good as is!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pine Bluff, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Springdale, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2008
i could tell by reading this that the sauce was not right. WAY too much tomato paste. and when the sauce is wrong...the whole dish is wrong. it would have been MUCH better with a jarred spaghetti sauce..and i'm a homemade gal! i don't think i've EVER used two cans of paste with anything....the cheddar cheese blended much nicer than i thought it would but i will not be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2007
This is perfect for using up those "extra" items in the cupboards and fridge. Delicious and quick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tina Krueger

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hayfield, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 28) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Mom's Baked Macaroni and Cheese

This easy recipe yields creamy, gooey, delicious mac and cheese.

Mom’s Favorite Baked Mac and Cheese

This creamy baked comfort food classic has two kinds of cheese.

Baked Mac and Cheese for One

See how to make creamy mac-and-cheese in individual portions.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States