Baked Macaroni and Cheese Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2015
I liked it, but I would use less butter next time. My husband calls it "a good mac-and-cheese." Our 3-year-old did not like any of the macaroni that were crunchy, though, only the soft pieces from the bottom. I thought the flavor was good, but I did use two different types of cheese, and I did not hold back on adding salt. It's not the prettiest mac-and-cheese, so I would not make it to serve guests. It was finished @ 30 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2015
This hit the spot on a cold Maine winter night. What I did differently: added 1 tsp mustard powder, 1/2 tsp salt and several dashes paprika to the liquid mixture, in addition to the cheddar cheese, I added about a 1/2 cup shredded Colby Jack cheese. I also heated up the milk, cheese, egg, butter mixture whisking it constantly until it all melted and poured it on the lightly cooked pasta and finished it off with some seasoned bread crumbs. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA
Living In: Owls Head, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2015
I liked this a lot, and I will definitely make this again. I added a lot more cheese, but that was just me. It would've been fine without.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CB

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2015
turned out curdley.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Victor Wheby Jr

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2015
This is very close to a recipe I used in a restaurant, except we didn't add any margarine or butter. We just cooked the pasta and immediately rinsed in cold water, poured it in a large casserole type dish and mixed in enormous amounts of cheese, then salt and pepper to taste(sea salt and fresh ground pepper is best) and mixed it all very well.(the cooling of the pasta kept the cheese from melting before we were finished with...)Then poured in a mixture of milk and eggs and slid the pan back and forth to spread it all out evenly, filling as many gaps in the pasta as is possible, and where the egg/milk mixture was just ever so slightly below the top of the pasta, then topped it with more cheese and bread crumbs :):) I'm glad to see someone else use milk and eggs in their mac and cheese because it DOES make a HUGE difference! Of course you can always "cheat" and add things on top like sun dried tomatoes, fresh mushroon slices or like I'm doing right now, adding pre-fried and drained bacon and adding only the meat part in crumbles. I figure there's already enough fat in the pan the way it is lol I've honestly not tried Meredith's recipe YET, but as a former cook for a living and just do it now for myself(boring but I get to experiment a lot!)for group events or just for my neighbor, it sounds DELICIOUS! Anyone who cooks a lot gets that "sense" of how something would taste, so you know what I mean. I promise to cook Meredith's version because it sounds like a DEFINITE WINNER!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2014
I really like this recipe and I've been fixing it for about 55 years. It's better than some of the recipes that have a flour base. This recipe does not set up like concrete the next day. I follow the directions as printed but always add a pitch of red pepper flakes, not enough to make it too spicy but just a "nip" also a small pinch of nutmeg. If I have some chips in the pantry, usually do cause no one finishes of the crumbs in the bottom of the bag, I use these for a topping. Also, I almost alway vary my cheeses, matter of fact I usually make this dish when I have several cheeses in the refrigerator, not enough of one to really make anything so I just shred them up and use them. I think my favorite one time was Fontina, Cheddar and a bit of Gorgonzola. I also add a lot of pepper to my Mac & Cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by elizabeth32

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: North Yarmouth, Maine, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2014
I made this for me and my husband and we both loved it. The top does get a little more crunchy but I still really like the top part as well and I feel like the underneath part stay nice and moist. If you cook it in a larger sized pan then in the directions it will probably be more dry and crunchy. I also used a mixture of cheeses instead of just cheddar which was very tasty. Definetly on our make again list. My husband says he thinks it's almost better than the Mac and cheese from noodles and company.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Shenelle Thompson
Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2014
This was my first time baking mac n cheese and this recipe gave me a quick and easy guide. I did make one tweak which was to make it spicy and shredded cheese on top. Could use other tweaks to enhance taste and consistency
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shenelle Thompson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2014
used gluten free penne, was awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2014
I made this one but added a little extra cheese on top and put some sausage inside. Cooked it for about 25 minutes and used garlic salt instead of regular salt but still put in some pepper. Turned out delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Victoria Crawford

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 327) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Baked Macaroni and Cheese III

This baked mac and cheese is so delicious, your guests will beg for seconds.

Baked Mac and Cheese for One

See how to make creamy mac-and-cheese in individual portions.

Baked Homemade Macaroni and Cheese

A buttery cracker topping and rich cheese sauce make it a family favorite.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States