Baked Macaroni and Cheese III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2007
This was delicious BUT I made a lot of modifications. Following other reviews, I doubled the sauce part and tripled the cheese. I even had to take out some of the macaroni because there wasn't enough sauce to make it as cheese as I like. I used some chedder, pepper jack & gorgonzola. I mixed it all together instead of layering. I mixed in breadcrumbs with the parmesean cheese. I added white pepper, garlic powder & onion powder. I also mixed in a lot of jalapeno peppers & a little bit of juice. My boyfriend is a jalapeno fiend. The result is delicious! If you're expecting stovetop mac & cheese w/ processed cheese...this isn't the recipe for you! This is BAKED mac & cheese! I will add this to my notebook of recipes to make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
450 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Yeongmee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA
Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2004
I made this for my in-laws for our Christmas Eve dinner and everyone loved it! I read some of the reviews beforehand (which I highly recommend) and decided based on those to use a smaller pan so that it would not dry out (I used a Corningware 2.8 liter dish). I didn't really measure the cheese but used I'm sure more than the original recipe called for. I also added bread crumbs to the top for a twist. I followed all the other measurements exactly. The sour cream component makes the difference I think. What I like about this dish is that it's more than just a cheese sauce you melt and pour over pasta as if it were from a box. It's a real old fashioned mac and cheese bake like the ones I grew up with--very cheesy, moist. And it didn't take that long to make. I highly recommend this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
371 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2006
I added a full can of the evaporated milk and added a healthy slab of Velveeta after reading other reviews of this recipe. On it's own it's a good recipe, with a bit of tweaking it's a very good recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
186 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Des Moines, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2003
My hubby and I just loved this recipe. It's quick and easy to make and very tasty. I think maybe the people that complained about it being too dry may have used a 9x13 pan. The recipe doesn't state what size to use so I made it in a 8x8 pan. I think a larger pan would cause the pasta to cook too quickly and become very dry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
139 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Merritt Island, Florida, USA
Living In: Saint Cloud, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2002
I love this recipe. Very tasty and not alot of work! I made it for a family pot luck and I have been asked for the recipe many times, there is also a request for it at the next Baby shower coming up. I did make one change, when I double the recipe, I used 3 eggs instead of 4 and added an extra cup of milk to make it a little creamier, Where it is such a large amount I found it needed the little extra
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
92 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Autumn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada
Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2007
My family liked this one! We have been trying different recipes for mac and cheese, and this one got the best reviews!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
75 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rhonda R

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Russellville, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Irving, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2003
I almost did'nt make this cause of the bad reviews,but i am glad I did! It was delish and not dry at all. Just goes to show you that you need to try a recipe for yourself!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
65 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KECIA123

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rome, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2005
As suggested by many others, I doubled the ingredients for the milk mixure as well as the cheeses. My whole family loved it. I'm already being hounded for another batch!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
58 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chatsworth, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2005
After reading the reviews, I double the sauce but not the eggs & it was fabulous! I made enough for 40 people (using 2 large pans) & it was easy to make the entire batch at one time. There would not have been enough sauce if I had not doubled it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
58 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Oviedo, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2005
My family loves this recipe and I have made it numerous times. My friends always ask me to make it for get togethers too. I dont change much - I just leave out the butter on top (dont need any more fat for such a high calorie recipe). Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by OLYBROWNS

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Olympia, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 255) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Baked Homemade Macaroni and Cheese

A buttery cracker topping and rich cheese sauce make it a family favorite.

Baked Mac and Cheese for One

See how to make creamy mac-and-cheese in individual portions.

Baked Macaroni and Cheese III

This baked mac and cheese is so delicious, your guests will beg for seconds.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States