Baked Macaroni and Cheese I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2011
This is a good basic recipe. I do agree with an other reviewer that the basic roux definitely needs salt, pepper and dry mustard (1/2tsp) and needs to be cooked long enough to prevent the "floury" taste. The reason you don't want the sauce to be too thick, is that you want the sauce to get inside the elbow or penne pasta. The sauce will thicken as the M&C bakes in the oven. Almost everything else is a matter of taste and you can adjust the amount of bacon, onion & garlic to your liking. I prefer sharp cheddar, but any cheese will do. Finally, I've been making baked M&C for about 45 years. Before baking I spread a cup of cubed cheese over the top of the casserole along with cornflake crumbs and a little salt and pepper. This makes a wonderful crust on the top. Served with a side of stewed tomatoes and peanut butter muffins!! Love it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2011
I absolutely loved this. It is so creamy and rich. I may add a little more bacon next time. Also a great recipe to replace lobster for the bacon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2011
Great Mac and Cheese recipe even though I made it healthier -- turkey bacon, low fat cheese, corn pasta and skim milk. I added some peas and dry mustard to add some kick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SWRDPRINCESS

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2011
This recipe was not bad but it was a little bland. After reading some of the other reviews, I too will definitely add a little something to flavor it up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2011
Everyone Loved this. However, I added more bacon and used cheddar and mozzarella and provalone cheeses (I am not a big cheese person )it is so easy as well (which really calls for a lot of will power,LOL)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by La Donis

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mominml
Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2011
My kids would give this a million stars if they could, and that is a direct quote from them. They were in love with this recipe and have requested it twice in the last week. I mean, what's not to love, pasta, cheese, and bacon?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mominml

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Living In: Moses Lake, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2011
The first thing my husband said was "Im never going back to Kraft Macaroni again"!! It really was that delicious. I read ahead to the other comments before preparing myself and the only modifications I made was I added a 1/2 tsp of Garlic Powder, and Salt and Pepper. Otherwise i followed the directions. Just remember to be patient making the sauce and it will turn out great. I will definitely be sharing this recipe with others and it will be a staple at our table from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by virgie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Santa Maria, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2010
This is a pretty good mac and cheese recipe. I added mustard and lots of pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Emily Jones Frandsen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Missoula, Montana, USA
Living In: Pocatello, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2010
This recipe is great! The bacon and onion add just a little kick that keeps it from being plain old mac and cheese. I made it using an 8 oz block of Cabot extra sharp cheddar that I shredded myself. Definitely a keeper in my book!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2010
was a bit dry and did not like the lumby texture
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 305) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Baked Macaroni and Cheese III

This baked mac and cheese is so delicious, your guests will beg for seconds.

Baked Macaroni and Cheese I

How do you make a better mac & cheese bake? Add bacon!

Baked Mac and Cheese for One

See how to make creamy mac-and-cheese in individual portions.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States