Baked Macaroni and Cheese I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2012
I used a little less flour, stirred it with the butter for a long time, and could still taste the flour. I did add broccoli to the veggies, and a little hot sauce. I wish I would have used sharp cheddar, because it needs some sort of kick (the hot sauce helped). Also, the sauce took FOREVER to thicken. Maybe 25 minutes? I think I'd rather just stick to my usual recipe for mac n' cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2012
A-MA-ZING! this recipe was so great! it turned out better then expected! all i did different was add more bacon.so yummy! i already cant wait to make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2012
A little dry, however, I added two garlic cloves and bread crumb topping. After adding the bread crumbs, I baked for 20 minutes (as described) and then broiled on high for 2 minutes. Also, I added oregano for garnish
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2012
I thought this mac n' cheese was fabulous!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lauren Goff

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Louisville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2011
Way too much cheese, and it seems like it would be a really great recipe, it just didn't turn out for me. I'm not a fan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2011
Love the concept of making it from scratch, but this recipe lacked flavor! Needs ALOT more spices, seasoning, and more liquid. Mine came out dry and tasteless.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by delish

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2011
Delicious!!!My son loved and and wants me to make it again...He told me to put it as 5 stars....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Milton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2011
Both my boyfriend and I were excited to try this dish but were sorely disappointed. It just tasted like flour/extremely bland. Perhaps I did something wrong but I followed the recipe exactly except used vegan bacon bits because I'm vegetarian. I did not care for it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2011
the only change that i made to this was the noodles, other than that followed it to a T and we still didnt like it. the bacon added a nice flavor but i wont be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Meghan Jean Anderson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Nebraska City, Nebraska, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2011
This is a good basic recipe. I do agree with an other reviewer that the basic roux definitely needs salt, pepper and dry mustard (1/2tsp) and needs to be cooked long enough to prevent the "floury" taste. The reason you don't want the sauce to be too thick, is that you want the sauce to get inside the elbow or penne pasta. The sauce will thicken as the M&C bakes in the oven. Almost everything else is a matter of taste and you can adjust the amount of bacon, onion & garlic to your liking. I prefer sharp cheddar, but any cheese will do. Finally, I've been making baked M&C for about 45 years. Before baking I spread a cup of cubed cheese over the top of the casserole along with cornflake crumbs and a little salt and pepper. This makes a wonderful crust on the top. Served with a side of stewed tomatoes and peanut butter muffins!! Love it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 284) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Baked Homemade Macaroni and Cheese

A buttery cracker topping and rich cheese sauce make it a family favorite.

Baked Mac and Cheese for One

See how to make creamy mac-and-cheese in individual portions.

Baked Macaroni and Cheese III

This baked mac and cheese is so delicious, your guests will beg for seconds.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States