Baked Mac and Cheese for One Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2009
Since I was only cooking for myself today, this recipe was right on time. I pretty much followed the recipe except I baked it longer and at 425 degrees because I like my mac & cheese browned on the bottom and edges. The recipe isn't real cheesy but the onion powder and other spices gives it a nice flavor boost. Just taste the cheese sauce before adding the macaroni and if it isn't cheesy enough, just add more. I'm counting calories so I thought it was just right. I used panko breadcrumbs which always add a nice crunch. As I was eating, I thought about adding a little chopped broccoli to the dish when I make it again for a quick broccoli mac & cheese dish. I baked it in one of my mini au gratin dishes, and it fit perfectly. A really nice recipe that I will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
129 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Spyce

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Decatur, Illinois, USA
Living In: Waldorf, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2009
Perfectly sized for one! I added chopped up broccoli before putting it in the oven, and it was delicious. I might leave out the mustard next time, though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Miami, Florida, USA
Living In: Tallahassee, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2009
First time I have been inspired to post a review despite using the site for a couple of years now. I needed to use up an opened box of elbow macaroni and found this 'recipe for one.' This mac-n-cheese recipe was absolutely delicious. Loved the flavor and texture - very creamy. Some 'scratch' mac-n-cheese recipes seem to require too much flour or baking time and the texture can be very grainy. Not this one! Only changes - I omitted the worcestorshire and used a little extra cheese on top. Now, I just need to scale the recipe to serve several people and I will proudly prepare it for our next family gathering. Yummy!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
137 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2009
This recipe is darned close to my personal one- it's nice to see a "mini-mac" recipe! Real macaroni and cheese is about good, comforting REAL food. Good food, good recipe- kudos to you, for a great alternative to the boxed kind!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by leopardstripes

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Blaine, Washington, USA
Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2009
This is just the right size. I added a crumbled hamburger patty that I had left over.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lilcat

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: West Concord, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2009
This is delicious! I will be making this quite often!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2009
I'm not a mac and cheese fan, but my husband and daughter love it. This recipe was super simple and made a very creamy sauce. I quadrupled the recipe, omitted the mustard and worchestshire, added seasoned ground turkey, crispy bacon bits and ritz crumbs before baking. I also used 3 types of cheese: asiago, cottage cheese, and a mexican blend. My husband said it was "so good". Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2009
YUM!! I am in college and was looking for a quick, easy, cheap meal. This is absolutely delicious and so easy to make! It's so creamy! I used mexican blend cheese (left over from taco night) and water instead of milk (out of milk...) and an extra tablespoon of butter. I will make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by It's A New Day
Reviewed: May 4, 2009
Excellent! Just what I was looking for. I used extra sharp cheese and a panko bread crumbs/Parmesan cheese mixture on top. I will be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by It's A New Day

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Purcellville, Virginia, USA
Living In: Winchester, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: May 20, 2009
This is a wonderful recipe that I have made several times. I have followed the recipe exactly and I don't feel I need to alter anything. Sometimes if I want a little extra protein, I'll add a little chopped, smoked ham which goes really well with the cheddar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kansas City, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 187) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Baked Mac and Cheese for One

See how to make creamy mac-and-cheese in individual portions.

Baked Homemade Macaroni and Cheese

A buttery cracker topping and rich cheese sauce make it a family favorite.

Baked Macaroni and Cheese III

This baked mac and cheese is so delicious, your guests will beg for seconds.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States