Baked Mac and Cheese for One Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2009
First time I have been inspired to post a review despite using the site for a couple of years now. I needed to use up an opened box of elbow macaroni and found this 'recipe for one.' This mac-n-cheese recipe was absolutely delicious. Loved the flavor and texture - very creamy. Some 'scratch' mac-n-cheese recipes seem to require too much flour or baking time and the texture can be very grainy. Not this one! Only changes - I omitted the worcestorshire and used a little extra cheese on top. Now, I just need to scale the recipe to serve several people and I will proudly prepare it for our next family gathering. Yummy!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
136 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2009
Since I was only cooking for myself today, this recipe was right on time. I pretty much followed the recipe except I baked it longer and at 425 degrees because I like my mac & cheese browned on the bottom and edges. The recipe isn't real cheesy but the onion powder and other spices gives it a nice flavor boost. Just taste the cheese sauce before adding the macaroni and if it isn't cheesy enough, just add more. I'm counting calories so I thought it was just right. I used panko breadcrumbs which always add a nice crunch. As I was eating, I thought about adding a little chopped broccoli to the dish when I make it again for a quick broccoli mac & cheese dish. I baked it in one of my mini au gratin dishes, and it fit perfectly. A really nice recipe that I will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
127 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Spyce

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Decatur, Illinois, USA
Living In: Waldorf, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: May 22, 2009
My very favorite macaroni and cheese is....Kraft!...doctored up with....Velveeta! I don't have mac and cheese often and on the rare occasions I do none of the homemade recipes I've tried have ever held a candle to that boxed stuff and this recipe was no exception. The flavor was okay - I used a mix of mild cheddar (for creaminess), sharp Cheddar and Gruyere (for flavor), and skipped the bread crumbs. But I have to agree with "love my kids" who commented she'd add more macaroni in the future. There was just too much heavy sauce which totally overwhelmed the macaroni. I will still be on the look-out for something that beats that little blue box!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
99 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2009
Awesome! I get a hankering for mac and cheese every once in a while, and BF detests it (what's wrong with him?!?!) so I can never make it for dinner. I make this for myself for lunch now to cure my craving. Any pasta will do really, penne/ziti is actually my fave, but I use whatever's on hand. I adjust if a bit by adding a sprinkle of smoked paprika, and prefer to use a non-vinegary hot sauce, not tabasco for this one. Instead of breadcrumbs I sprinkle french fried onions on top, then the cheese and bake... SO GOOD!!! Be sure, as with any roux based sauce, that you let it thicken properly (before adding the cheese), otherwise you will end up with it 'soupy' as one reviewer described... Use the 2 minutes as a guideline, but if it's still thin, give it another minute or 2 til it looks right. Would definately scale this up and serve to guests, especially around the holidays! UPDATE: I now use the cheesy sauce (double amts) in my tuna casserole and it's AWESOME... try it! DOUBLE UPDATE: I don't suggest making this ahead of time... I scaled it up and made it an hour or so before baking and it wasn't as smooth as it is when you bake it right away, the sauce kind of starts to coagulate... I did however adapt the recipe to be gluten free for a friend with celiacs by using brown rice macaroni and white rice flour (just know that a gluten free roux is thinner, but it bakes up ok in the end). She said it was really good and hadn't been able to have mac N cheese for a looong time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Starlet

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Maple Valley, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2009
This recipe is darned close to my personal one- it's nice to see a "mini-mac" recipe! Real macaroni and cheese is about good, comforting REAL food. Good food, good recipe- kudos to you, for a great alternative to the boxed kind!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by leopardstripes

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Blaine, Washington, USA
Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA
Photo by TTV78
Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2011
Fantastic, creamy, and satisfying mac-n-cheese with this quick and easy recipe. The Hubster loved it and said it was the best he's ever had. Didn't change a thing and will definitely be making this one again. Since it's just the two of us, I love that I can make single servings and we don't have an enormous amount of leftovers to deal with. Thanks for the great recipe! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TTV78

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA
Living In: Milpitas, California, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2009
Quite salty and not very cheesy. Best to let it sit for 10-15 minutes after baking to solidify the sauce and avoid eating macaroni and cheese soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2009
Finally! I've been looking for months for a creamy/saucy homemade mac n cheese recipe that's also tasty- and I've found it! Thank you cody's mama for posting ur pic- which made me try this recipe. My first successful roux. I followed the recipe pretty closely, only changes were to double the recipe (kept baking time the same) and replaced bread crumbs with Ritz crumbs. The pasta-to-sauce ratio was perfect, i like my pasta slightly drowning in sauce. Some of the ingredients (worchestershire and hot sauce) might sound weird for a mac n cheese recipe, but they actually help this one stand out (in a good way) without being too bold. but, it does give it a more grown-up taste. for a more traditional taste, i would omit the sauces (and maybe even the mustard) and add more cheese. The reviewer who found it too salty might have used salted butter. thanks amydoll for this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2011
Why would anyone make one serving of mac n cheese that requires all this work? I scratched my head at thought of measuring out only 3 TBS. of uncooked pasta? You can still make this a mac n cheese for one, but make 3 or 4 portions of them at once, freezing the rest. The measurements on this recipe need to be quadrupled and made into FOUR one-serving portions. You prepare ONCE and eat FOUR TIMES!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Shirley, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CuppaTeaGirl
Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2010
My friend made this for me last night, and it was delicious! I really liked the taste of the mustard in the cheese sauce...it added a nice little kick! I watched her make the dish, and it looked like she followed the recipe exactly. If I were making it, I might add a pinch of nutmeg to the sauce for a little extra flavor, though extra flavor was certainly not needed. This makes a great meal on a chilly autumn night! Saving to my personal recipes so I can give it a try myself...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CuppaTeaGirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wayne, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Bloomfield, New Jersey, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 185) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Baked Mac and Cheese for One

See how to make creamy mac-and-cheese in individual portions.

Baked Homemade Macaroni and Cheese

A buttery cracker topping and rich cheese sauce make it a family favorite.

Baked Macaroni and Cheese III

This baked mac and cheese is so delicious, your guests will beg for seconds.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States