Baked Mac and Cheese for One Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2009
Since I was only cooking for myself today, this recipe was right on time. I pretty much followed the recipe except I baked it longer and at 425 degrees because I like my mac & cheese browned on the bottom and edges. The recipe isn't real cheesy but the onion powder and other spices gives it a nice flavor boost. Just taste the cheese sauce before adding the macaroni and if it isn't cheesy enough, just add more. I'm counting calories so I thought it was just right. I used panko breadcrumbs which always add a nice crunch. As I was eating, I thought about adding a little chopped broccoli to the dish when I make it again for a quick broccoli mac & cheese dish. I baked it in one of my mini au gratin dishes, and it fit perfectly. A really nice recipe that I will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
121 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Spyce

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Decatur, Illinois, USA
Living In: Waldorf, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2009
Perfectly sized for one! I added chopped up broccoli before putting it in the oven, and it was delicious. I might leave out the mustard next time, though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Miami, Florida, USA
Living In: Tallahassee, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2009
First time I have been inspired to post a review despite using the site for a couple of years now. I needed to use up an opened box of elbow macaroni and found this 'recipe for one.' This mac-n-cheese recipe was absolutely delicious. Loved the flavor and texture - very creamy. Some 'scratch' mac-n-cheese recipes seem to require too much flour or baking time and the texture can be very grainy. Not this one! Only changes - I omitted the worcestorshire and used a little extra cheese on top. Now, I just need to scale the recipe to serve several people and I will proudly prepare it for our next family gathering. Yummy!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
132 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2009
This is just the right size. I added a crumbled hamburger patty that I had left over.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: West Concord, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2009
This recipe is darned close to my personal one- it's nice to see a "mini-mac" recipe! Real macaroni and cheese is about good, comforting REAL food. Good food, good recipe- kudos to you, for a great alternative to the boxed kind!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by leopardstripes

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Blaine, Washington, USA
Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2009
I have been looking forever for a wonderful homemade macaroni and cheese receipe that was easy and flavorful and this is it!!! Thanks for submitting it! I made extra so I have leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2009
This is delicious! I will be making this quite often!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2009
I converted this to four servings. I left out the hot pepper sauce. The only change I would make in the future when quadruple this is to add more macaroni. I did eyeball many of the smaller measurements. This was very creamy and delicious. I found it to be plenty rich even though I used 2% cheddar and skim milk. I've tried several mac & cheese recipes and this is very easy and yummy. I will make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Overland Park, Kansas, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2009
I made this pretty close to exact recipe. I didn't have macaroni noodles though so I had to use penne. I also added about a tablespoon of mozzarella & a 1/2 tablespoon of parmesan because I was trying to use them up. It turned out quite well. I dont think I would change this recipe at all. I did however use medium cheddar & believe itd be best with sharp cheddar instead. Will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mctmagill

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2009
I'm not a mac and cheese fan, but my husband and daughter love it. This recipe was super simple and made a very creamy sauce. I quadrupled the recipe, omitted the mustard and worchestshire, added seasoned ground turkey, crispy bacon bits and ritz crumbs before baking. I also used 3 types of cheese: asiago, cottage cheese, and a mexican blend. My husband said it was "so good". Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 176) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Cool Weather Salads
Cool Weather Salads

Fall and winter salads bring bright flavors to your favorite meals.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

Baked Mac and Cheese for One

See how to make creamy mac-and-cheese in individual portions.

Baked Homemade Macaroni and Cheese

A buttery cracker topping and rich cheese sauce make it a family favorite.

Baked Macaroni and Cheese III

This baked mac and cheese is so delicious, your guests will beg for seconds.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States