Baked Mac and Cheese for One Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2012
I made this tonight and quadrupled the recipe. I used low fat milk and cheese and used dijon mustard in place of ground mustard and it was delicious. I baked it in a small casserole dish. Since I used low fat cheese, the crust on top was sort of hard...next time I'll just top it with the bread crumbs (Panko)... Thanks for sharing this wonderful recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by penny from wiggins, ms

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Wiggins, Mississippi, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2011
I thought the sauce was way too much for the noodle amount- so I halved it and used the other half on broccoli baked the same way. Another reviewer said it gets grainy if not used right away...true. Does anyone have a way to remedy the grainy texture when sauce is leftover?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ronnie
Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2011
I made this last night, doubling the recipe so that I could have one for my husband as well. There has to be an error in the recipe ingredient quantities, because there was an incredible amount of sauce for the paltry amount of pasta. I had to stop and make more, ending up almost quadrupling the pasta quantity in order to get the right consistency. I omitted the hotsauce and used a bread crumb sprinkle on top consisting of bread crumbs, panko crumbs and grated parmesan cheese. The result was acceptable, but a bit bland. It needs some stronger cheese flavour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TaryP

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Annapolis, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2011
This is the recipe I've been trying to create for years! The best I've had by far homemade. It is as good (or better) than the mac & cheese at two local restaurants that I've been trying to duplicate. The sauce has the perfect consistency and flavor. I use fresh shaved parmesan on top instead of cheddar for a different flavor. Thanks for a perfect recipe! Who ever said the boxed stuff is better is crazy, this is the BEST!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New Berlin, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mukwonago, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2011
This is the best mac and cheese I've had! Love it Love it Love it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2011
Delicious! The only thing I did different was use Italian breadcrumbs since that's all I had in the pantry. Easy recipe for myself and for making a larger serving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Worth, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2011
I made this Thanksgiving and have to say "it was all right", to be fair I was looking for a recipe similar to what my Mom made. This was not it. Also, I left out the hot sauce and Worcestershire sauce. I did add extra cheese because I love cheese. Sorry, not for me
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2011
I was so hopeful about this recipe. I was supposed to bring the Mac and cheese for Thanksgiving, so it had to be good! I tried the small portion to see how it would taste. It was salty, gummy not creamy, and just not good. I was very disappointed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2011
While the flavor was there, the sauce did not set up properly and separated after it went into the oven. Next time I will cook the milk mixture longer than 2 minutes. Other than that, it tasted great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jastroud

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Castle Rock, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2011
I've been looking for a good homemade mac and cheese recipe that uses real cheese (not velveeta) and this one was getting there. It still has a bit of the gritty texture, I guess from the flour. I quadrupled the recipe and made about a cup of pasta, but it made twice as much cheese sauce as I needed. Not a big deal, I just froze the rest. Next time I'd make a cup of pasta and only double the cheese sauce recipe, if I make this recipe again. I liked the worcestershire and hot sauce added in.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Lansing, New York, USA
Living In: Syracuse, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 177) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Baked Mac and Cheese for One

See how to make creamy mac-and-cheese in individual portions.

Baked Homemade Macaroni and Cheese

A buttery cracker topping and rich cheese sauce make it a family favorite.

Baked Macaroni and Cheese III

This baked mac and cheese is so delicious, your guests will beg for seconds.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States