Baked Lentils with Cheese Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 17, 2015
So savory and delicious! Very filling too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2015
I chose this recipe because we have started a new lifestyle change - cutting out highly processed foods and adding more highly nutritious foods to our diet. So I was looking for something new we'd never had. I did make some changes to this recipe. First I used homemade vegetable stock in place of the water and ended up using 3 cups total. I used a mixture of red & brown lentils because the recipe didn't specify. I omitted the marjoram & sage because I didn't have them. I used 1 tsp minced garlic from a jar and a mixture of red/green/yellow peppers because that's what I had. I sautéed the onion, carrots, celery, and green peppers for about 5 minutes in a little olive oil for added flavor. I also didn't read the directions thoroughly and ended up combining everything but the cheese in the pan. I baked it for 30 minutes at 350 and checked it, the liquid was gone (which is why I added another cup as stated above for a total of 3 cups) at this point I turned my oven up to 400 covered with foil and baked an additional 45-55 minutes, checking a few times for doneness. I also added onion powder, garlic powder, and oregano - to taste because it was too bland for my tastes. I did not bake it with the cheese it melted without putting it back in the oven. This isn't a dish I will cook every week, but it changes things up and I would make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by laceyworks

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2015
This recipe came from a vegetarian cookbook from the 70s or early 80s and has been one of my staples, whenever looking for a meatless dish. My husband, an ardent meat-etarian, loves it. Over the years I've made lots of changes, depending on what vegetables I have on hand. Leeks, mushrooms, different kinds of peppers, celery root, and different herbs, each giving a unique twist. It becomes an excellent base for whatever flavours you crave. I generally use chicken or vegetable broth instead of water. I also sometimes sauté the veg first to develop a bit more flavour, but I do like the way the recipe suggests you add the veg, too, which helps maintain their original shape. Also I've used different kinds of cheese. Swiss gives it a nutty taste. Love this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2015
A great side dish when looking for something different.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Beth

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2015
My super picky kids, all four of them are this and told me we can have this for dinner all the time. I did blend the veggies in my nutribullet so they couldn't see them but otherwise followed it to the letter. Will have this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2014
What a lovely way to have lentil stew! This was so comforting on a cold winter night and I truly enjoyed it. I did omit the green pepper as I am not really a fan of it. Otherwise I made it as written.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lilcat

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: West Concord, Minnesota, USA
Photo by Lucky Noodles
Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2014
Wow, I was looking for an easy side to use up some lentils and had everything on hand for this delicious treat. I did mix a little mozzarella cheese with the cheddar. Will make this again and recommend highly, thank you Tiffany!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lucky Noodles

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hanover, Indiana, USA
Living In: Noblesville, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2014
A few years ago, when I had an 8-month-old baby and was pregnant with another, I came home from work to this incredible dish cooking in the oven. My mother-in-law had made it for my birthday dinner. I ate it like there was no tomorrow, and every time I make it, I can't believe how delicious something this healthy can be. It's one of my husband's and my very favorite foods.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Janita McNemar

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2014
This is such a good, satisfying homey recipe.I love that it is meatless. The seasonings, texture, colors, and healthfulness of this recipe has made it a go-to for many years. My kids loved it when they were younger, my husband (who is a profound meat eater) really loves it too. I don't change a thing in the recipe. NOTE: It makes a huge amount - for just my husband and me, I usually cut the recipe in half, and even then, we have leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Patsy Shipman Weidenbach

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pasadena, California, USA
Living In: Tacoma, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2013
If I was to make this recipe again I would pre-cook the Carrots and the Celery. Alternatively I would make the cooking time longer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 23) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Mom’s Favorite Baked Mac and Cheese

This creamy baked comfort food classic has two kinds of cheese.

Baked Macaroni and Cheese I

How do you make a better mac & cheese bake? Add bacon!

Baked Mac and Cheese for One

See how to make creamy mac-and-cheese in individual portions.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States