Baked Lentils with Cheese Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2015
This recipe came from a vegetarian cookbook from the 70s or early 80s and has been one of my staples, whenever looking for a meatless dish. My husband, an ardent meat-etarian, loves it. Over the years I've made lots of changes, depending on what vegetables I have on hand. Leeks, mushrooms, different kinds of peppers, celery root, and different herbs, each giving a unique twist. It becomes an excellent base for whatever flavours you crave. I generally use chicken or vegetable broth instead of water. I also sometimes sauté the veg first to develop a bit more flavour, but I do like the way the recipe suggests you add the veg, too, which helps maintain their original shape. Also I've used different kinds of cheese. Swiss gives it a nutty taste. Love this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2015
A great side dish when looking for something different.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Beth

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2015
My super picky kids, all four of them are this and told me we can have this for dinner all the time. I did blend the veggies in my nutribullet so they couldn't see them but otherwise followed it to the letter. Will have this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2014
What a lovely way to have lentil stew! This was so comforting on a cold winter night and I truly enjoyed it. I did omit the green pepper as I am not really a fan of it. Otherwise I made it as written.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lilcat

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: West Concord, Minnesota, USA
Photo by Lucky Noodles
Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2014
Wow, I was looking for an easy side to use up some lentils and had everything on hand for this delicious treat. I did mix a little mozzarella cheese with the cheddar. Will make this again and recommend highly, thank you Tiffany!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lucky Noodles

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hanover, Indiana, USA
Living In: Noblesville, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2014
A few years ago, when I had an 8-month-old baby and was pregnant with another, I came home from work to this incredible dish cooking in the oven. My mother-in-law had made it for my birthday dinner. I ate it like there was no tomorrow, and every time I make it, I can't believe how delicious something this healthy can be. It's one of my husband's and my very favorite foods.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Janita McNemar

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2014
This is such a good, satisfying homey recipe.I love that it is meatless. The seasonings, texture, colors, and healthfulness of this recipe has made it a go-to for many years. My kids loved it when they were younger, my husband (who is a profound meat eater) really loves it too. I don't change a thing in the recipe. NOTE: It makes a huge amount - for just my husband and me, I usually cut the recipe in half, and even then, we have leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Patsy Shipman Weidenbach

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pasadena, California, USA
Living In: Tacoma, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2013
If I was to make this recipe again I would pre-cook the Carrots and the Celery. Alternatively I would make the cooking time longer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2013
This was delicious!! It is a recipe where you can play around with the seasonings and vegetables. Next time I will cook the bell pepper longer--it was not as tender as the other vegetables. I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2013
Loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 21) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Mom’s Favorite Baked Mac and Cheese

This creamy baked comfort food classic has two kinds of cheese.

Baked Macaroni and Cheese I

How do you make a better mac & cheese bake? Add bacon!

Baked Mac and Cheese for One

See how to make creamy mac-and-cheese in individual portions.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States