Baked Lemon Chicken with Mushroom Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2013
This is really disappointing, among the blandest, least flavorful recipes I've ever made. The lemon is imperceptible even with 50 percent more juice than the recipe called for, and by the time the chicken browned in the oven, it was badly overcooked and dried out. The "sauce" was a glutinous mass--I thinned it by using 12 ounces of chicken broth instead of the prescribed half-cup, then squeezed another half a lemon into that to try to bring up the flavor. The only reason I'm giving two stars instead of one is that technically I COULD eat it. But I didn't enjoy it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2013
I loved this chicken. I read a lot of the reviews and decided that seasoning the chicken and pan-frying it was a great option - but I decided to just brown it and then throw it in the oven for 30 minutes. I used a variety of seasoning, as well as flour - parsley, basil, cayenne, paprika, garlic powder, salt and pepper, thyme etc - dipped the chicken in and then fried it with some fresh lemon juice squeezed over. I made the sauce but used more chicken broth and put a lot of garlic in it. I didn't have white wine, but I thought that would be delicious. My sauce turned out quite lemony... I actually poured it over the chicken and baked for an additional five minutes to let the flavours blend. I served the dish atop basmati rice, alongside roasted potatoes (had some I needed to use up - don't usually like two starches), and broccoli. It was a nice and refreshing dish that I will definitely make again. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Kurtz

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2013
This was really good! Read a few reviews first and added poultry seasoning and salt and pepper and prepared on the stovetop... Didn't have any mushrooms so used onions. Omitted parsley since I didn't have any. Served with sauteed kale and rice. Super easy, fast, yummy dinner with ingredients I always have on hand!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hope's Mom

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Arlington, Virginia, USA
Living In: Kailua Kona, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2013
This was absolutely fabulous! I added a minced shallot and 1/3 cup of dry white wine, a smidge of salt and pepper and a couple sprigs of fresh thyme instead of parsley. Over a bed of steamed spinach with some squeezed lemon, it was heavenly. Thank you Joyce!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2012
this very good..i added cream in the chicken stock and it made the sauce tastier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2012
So tasty and moist when I marinaded it overnight with Chicken Seasoning Blend. I also cooked it in a skillet and it was very moist, served it with dense bread to soak up the gravy. Very good recipe, thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Albany, New York, USA
Living In: Delmar, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2012
This was sooo good...every one loved it..thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2012
I followed some of the other reviewers advice and added poultry seasoning, fresh garlic, and salt/pepper/garlic powder blend. I cooked the chicken in the skillet first then added the rest of the ingredients. Also I used corn starch instead of flour to thicken the sauce at the end. My family really enjoyed it and it was easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2012
It's a plain and simple recipe. Worth redoing on a Tuesday or Wednesday night. I served it with a can of peas. I'd double the mushroom recipe if I made it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2012
This is simply delicious! I did change things up a bit: I marinated the chicken in lemon juice, poultry seasoning, garlic, and basil. Then I cooked the chicken in a skillet in olive oil (I like my chicken brown!); removed cooked chicken to a pyrex dish where I squeezed lemon juice over each breast. Then saute the mushrooms in butter in the same skillet; add flour, chicken broth and a splash of white wine. Pour over the chicken breasts and keep covered until ready to serve. I sprinkled with fresh parsley at the last minute. I made this for ten people (had never made it before) and everyone raved about it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 544) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Baked Lemon Chicken with Mushroom Sauce

See how to make lemony chicken served with a savory mushroom sauce.

Crispy and Tender Baked Chicken Thighs

See how to roast chicken until crispy on the outside and juicy on the inside.

Baked Garlic Parmesan Chicken

See how to make an easy weeknight chicken dish that's a 5-star favorite.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States