Baked Lemon Chicken with Mushroom Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2013
I love lemon, so I really enjoyed this recipe. I kept the sauce the same but cooked only two breasts and used a skillet. Really good, but I will add seasoning next time. Quick and easy, can't beat that! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Robbie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Concord, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by theloghomekitchen
Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2013
As with many recipes, the ratio of ingredients just aren't right. With that said, I'm rating this based on the flavor alone. There is no way that the sauce as written will yield enough for six chicken breast halves. I had two large boneless breast halves that I ended up slicing in thick medallions. Departing from the suggested cooking method, I browned them in the olive oil. Then I added the butter, juice from a Meyer lemon, some of the chicken broth, and the mushrooms. I sauteed them for about five minutes, then added the flour and more broth to thicken. It made a very nice sauce, but I had to more than double the broth to have enough for two plates. My hubby and I both enjoyed the savory flavor and tenderness of the chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by theloghomekitchen

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lancaster, California, USA
Living In: Salmon, Idaho, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2013
Excellent! This was very easy to do, my kind of recipe. Tasty, quick, and not a lot of cleaning at the end. I did add salt and pepper before placing it in the oven. My family loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2013
This is a great recipe. Very easy to make. I cooked the chicken in a skillet instead of the oven. The sauce is delicious! My husband requests it almost every week.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by StephaniePalmer

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2013
A big hit! Just a couple of recommendations......could not fit 6 chicken breasts into an 8 x 8 pan, did a quick browning step in a frying pan first with some garlic and a little spice, used the same pan with the brown 'bits' to fry the mushrooms and make the sauce, squeezed extra lemon juice over the chicken before putting in the oven and squeezed more into the mushroom sauce for a bit more tang. If sauce gets too thick add a bit more chicken broth/stock. Delicious and very moist & tender!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2013
I followed directions and didn't tweak at all. It was ok but very bland. I think you could adjust the recipe to add a lemon pepper marinade and lots of garlic then grill instead of bake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2013
This is really disappointing, among the blandest, least flavorful recipes I've ever made. The lemon is imperceptible even with 50 percent more juice than the recipe called for, and by the time the chicken browned in the oven, it was badly overcooked and dried out. The "sauce" was a glutinous mass--I thinned it by using 12 ounces of chicken broth instead of the prescribed half-cup, then squeezed another half a lemon into that to try to bring up the flavor. The only reason I'm giving two stars instead of one is that technically I COULD eat it. But I didn't enjoy it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2013
I loved this chicken. I read a lot of the reviews and decided that seasoning the chicken and pan-frying it was a great option - but I decided to just brown it and then throw it in the oven for 30 minutes. I used a variety of seasoning, as well as flour - parsley, basil, cayenne, paprika, garlic powder, salt and pepper, thyme etc - dipped the chicken in and then fried it with some fresh lemon juice squeezed over. I made the sauce but used more chicken broth and put a lot of garlic in it. I didn't have white wine, but I thought that would be delicious. My sauce turned out quite lemony... I actually poured it over the chicken and baked for an additional five minutes to let the flavours blend. I served the dish atop basmati rice, alongside roasted potatoes (had some I needed to use up - don't usually like two starches), and broccoli. It was a nice and refreshing dish that I will definitely make again. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SARAHCANADA

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2013
This was really good! Read a few reviews first and added poultry seasoning and salt and pepper and prepared on the stovetop... Didn't have any mushrooms so used onions. Omitted parsley since I didn't have any. Served with sauteed kale and rice. Super easy, fast, yummy dinner with ingredients I always have on hand!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hope's Mom

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Arlington, Virginia, USA
Living In: Kailua Kona, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2013
This was absolutely fabulous! I added a minced shallot and 1/3 cup of dry white wine, a smidge of salt and pepper and a couple sprigs of fresh thyme instead of parsley. Over a bed of steamed spinach with some squeezed lemon, it was heavenly. Thank you Joyce!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 520) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Baked Lemon Chicken with Mushroom Sauce

See how to make lemony chicken served with a savory mushroom sauce.

Baked Garlic Parmesan Chicken

See how to make an easy weeknight chicken dish that's a 5-star favorite.

Honey Baked Chicken II

Honey, mustard, and curry create a simple, sweet-and-savory baked chicken.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States