Baked Lemon Chicken with Mushroom Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2013
Mushrooms and chicken go really well together, and the sauce is fabulous. Used shimeji mushrooms because that's what I had. Took the advice of others and made extra sauce but added cooking sake (didn't have white wine) to the chicken stock. Also seasoned the chicken with salt, pepper, and garlic powder. Tasty! Will probably make again :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2013
So tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2013
I love lemon, so I really enjoyed this recipe. I kept the sauce the same but cooked only two breasts and used a skillet. Really good, but I will add seasoning next time. Quick and easy, can't beat that! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Robbie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Concord, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Cookin'Cyn
Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2013
As with many recipes, the ratio of ingredients just aren't right. With that said, I'm rating this based on the flavor alone. There is no way that the sauce as written will yield enough for six chicken breast halves. I had two large boneless breast halves that I ended up slicing in thick medallions. Departing from the suggested cooking method, I browned them in the olive oil. Then I added the butter, juice from a Meyer lemon, some of the chicken broth, and the mushrooms. I sauteed them for about five minutes, then added the flour and more broth to thicken. It made a very nice sauce, but I had to more than double the broth to have enough for two plates. My hubby and I both enjoyed the savory flavor and tenderness of the chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cookin'Cyn

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lancaster, California, USA
Living In: Salmon, Idaho, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2013
Excellent! This was very easy to do, my kind of recipe. Tasty, quick, and not a lot of cleaning at the end. I did add salt and pepper before placing it in the oven. My family loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2013
This is a great recipe. Very easy to make. I cooked the chicken in a skillet instead of the oven. The sauce is delicious! My husband requests it almost every week.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by StephaniePalmer

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2013
A big hit! Just a couple of recommendations......could not fit 6 chicken breasts into an 8 x 8 pan, did a quick browning step in a frying pan first with some garlic and a little spice, used the same pan with the brown 'bits' to fry the mushrooms and make the sauce, squeezed extra lemon juice over the chicken before putting in the oven and squeezed more into the mushroom sauce for a bit more tang. If sauce gets too thick add a bit more chicken broth/stock. Delicious and very moist & tender!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2013
I followed directions and didn't tweak at all. It was ok but very bland. I think you could adjust the recipe to add a lemon pepper marinade and lots of garlic then grill instead of bake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2013
This is really disappointing, among the blandest, least flavorful recipes I've ever made. The lemon is imperceptible even with 50 percent more juice than the recipe called for, and by the time the chicken browned in the oven, it was badly overcooked and dried out. The "sauce" was a glutinous mass--I thinned it by using 12 ounces of chicken broth instead of the prescribed half-cup, then squeezed another half a lemon into that to try to bring up the flavor. The only reason I'm giving two stars instead of one is that technically I COULD eat it. But I didn't enjoy it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2013
I loved this chicken. I read a lot of the reviews and decided that seasoning the chicken and pan-frying it was a great option - but I decided to just brown it and then throw it in the oven for 30 minutes. I used a variety of seasoning, as well as flour - parsley, basil, cayenne, paprika, garlic powder, salt and pepper, thyme etc - dipped the chicken in and then fried it with some fresh lemon juice squeezed over. I made the sauce but used more chicken broth and put a lot of garlic in it. I didn't have white wine, but I thought that would be delicious. My sauce turned out quite lemony... I actually poured it over the chicken and baked for an additional five minutes to let the flavours blend. I served the dish atop basmati rice, alongside roasted potatoes (had some I needed to use up - don't usually like two starches), and broccoli. It was a nice and refreshing dish that I will definitely make again. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SARAHCANADA

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

Displaying results 31-40 (of 512) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Baked Lemon Chicken with Mushroom Sauce

See how to make lemony chicken served with a savory mushroom sauce.

Baked Garlic Parmesan Chicken

See how to make an easy weeknight chicken dish that's a 5-star favorite.

Roasted Lemon Herb Chicken

See how to make a simple herb-rubbed roast chicken, Italian-style.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States