Baked Kale Chips Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by LucyDelRey
Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2008
I am the poster of this recipe. Thank you all for such nice reviews. You can CUT CALORIES CONSIDERABLY by spraying them with a mister or PAM(TM). I use a "Misto"(TM) filled with olive oil. Also, you can decrease the salt and add additional seasonings. Enjoy!! UPDATE: The timing of the baking, as others noted, is critical. Baking too little results in limp kale pieces and baking too long causes a "burned" taste. Be sure to use the "curly" kale variety as it tend to be less bitter.DO NOT EXPECT them to taste like potato chips... that was just an expression I used in the description. Kale is a nutritional powerhouse and rich in calcium and other vitamins. GREAT way to feed yourself and your kids!! ENJOY!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4585 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LucyDelRey

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Marina Del Rey, California, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2010
I've tried a LOTS of versions of kale chips with LOTS of different results. I've found that the success of the chip depends on three things: how you cook them, how curly the kale is and how much oil you use. This method has been, by far, the best: I've tried lower temp with long cooking, higher temp with quick cooking, convection methods, different sheet pans and all the rest. This recipe works (IMHO) by using a non insulated sheet and cooking at 350 for 10 minutes. I rotated my baking sheet 180 halfway through. I also made a point to use ONLY just enough oil to BARELY coat the leaves otherwise they'll stay soggy. When I arrange the pieces on the pan, I place them like little upside down "V's" so the curly side is down: I think this helps the air circulate around them better. Other than that, after you coat them with the oil, get creative with the toppings!!! I squeeze a little lemon on mine with sea salt or will do some garlic powder with chipotle pepper powder. Hope you'll all enjoy these as much as I did...Thanks Lucy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3601 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chardon, Ohio, USA
Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2008
My hubby looked at me like I was crazy when I started making this! LOL We both really liked the finished product. I used butter flavored cooking spray because it seemed easier than spreading the oil around and also used garlic salt which we really liked! The only hint I can offer is to watch this very, very carefully toward the end of the cooking time because I think just thirty seconds past "crispy" is another term..."crumbly" Into tiny pieces that are messy to eat :o)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2726 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carrieh82

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2008
These were really neat. They did have a similar taste to potato chips. I made mine a little too salty but they were great. Even the kids ate them, which is saying something for kale.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
784 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fayetteville, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2008
I got this recipe from a local blogger who writes about our local box. She used soy sauce instead of the seasoning salt and they came out heavenly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
636 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2009
So. Very. Good. I've been looking to an alternative to munching chips in front of the TV at night, and these are awesome, especially when you've had enough hummus for the week:). For those who were concerned about the ultra-crunchy crumbliness, (which in truth I kind of liked) I found that those Kale leaves that were folded in two (as it tends to do by itself if you don't unfold it as you place it on the pan) were a little more crunchy on parts and chewier in parts, if that's what you're going for. I had a mix of both and loved it. I kept a close eye on these and ended up happier with a tad lower temperature (around 330-340) and set the timer for 6 minutes and checked them, the first batch ready in 7 min, the second in 6 (hotter oven I guess). Halfway through eating these, I called my sister in law and HAD to tell her about them. Definitely a find. I will make these at my next family gathering. (My nephews and nieces have come to expect my unusual 'hippie' food:) )
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
588 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: North Bay, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2008
I was very excited to see this recipe, but disappointed by the finished product. It was definitely not a hit with my kid. They were difficult to cook evenly. It was a fine line between crispy and burnt. My husband and I thought they were ok, but not something we are excited to try again. You end up with a lot of chips and they really don't keep - you need to eat them right away or they are quite unpleasant. I did make a vegetarian lasagna with kale a few days later (we have a lot of kale these days) and that was a big hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
463 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by kareno
Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2008
These are indeed a good conversation item. They all got eaten, but it took a few days. I'll make these again, and this time will not stir in the middle of the baking time (it seemed like a good idea, but the kale stuck together).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
286 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kareno

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Marlette, Michigan, USA
Living In: South Bend, Indiana, USA
Photo by busymommy
Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2008
This sounds crazy, but it is very good!! All of the kids liked these.---Which NEVER happens!! I will experiment with different seasonings. Make sure you drain on paper towels after cooking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
240 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by busymommy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Columbus, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2011
I love these. Important tips: Wash and thoroughly dry. If possible, dry the day prior. I place the kale in a extra large bowl, add oil and shake until each piece is covered with oil. After laying them out on a cookie sheet, I lightly salt. Baking time is crucial. If unsure on time, go with low and slow. Brown make bitter! I do 325 for about 15-20 min, depending on moisture. For extra flavor, sprinkle parmesan cheese, crushed red chili, dry ranch mix or during shake process add vinegar of choice for tartness!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
213 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lucky

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brady, Texas, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 1,549) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Baked Kale Chips

See how to make this popular low-calorie crispy snack.

Baked Tortilla Chips

Homemade tortilla chips with cumin and lime juice.

Baked Zucchini Chips

See how to make crispy, low-calorie baked zucchini chips.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States