Baked Kale Chips Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Photo by nbdjsassan
Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2014
I loved the delicate crispness and good flavor, and it only took 20 minutes! My only warning: there is a bit of an aftertaste and you might want to brush your teeth after eating.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2014
This was the first experience my family had with kale, and it was amazing! My kids - 2 and 4 - both helped tear the leaves and arrange on the baking try. And, at the dinner table, the chips were gone in minutes! Even my husband liked them! My only recommendation is to be careful not to overbake. I preferred the chips that were almost all green, or green with a hint of brown. Most of my chips were all grown or just a touch of green; though still tasty, I preferred the chips that were more green. If on the fence, I definitely recommend trying this recipe! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2014
My first time trying kale chips and loved them! I sprayed them w/cooking spray and sprinkled with some seasoned salt. Baked exactly 10 minutes, turned the tray 180 degrees after five minutes. Wonderful!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2014
I made this modification: oven to 350 for 10 min, turned it off and left it for 60 min. - AMAZING! Delicately crisp and delicious, but they do make lots of GAS! Ha Ha!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2014
Easy and very tasty. Will make often
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2014
Simple and delicious. I used Meyer Lemon olive oil and herbamare seasoning. Next time I'll fill my misto with the olive oil as someone suggested to cut down on the amount of oil on the chips. I made my first batch crispy and the second batch I let remain a little chewy. Both were great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2014
I took the advice in another review and reduced the temp to 200. The bake time was around an hour, but that's not critical - just check it and if they're not done, reset the timer. Beyond that, I took a tip from the original recipe poster's review and used Pam spray. That was great - just spray, sprinkle with the spice mix and bake. On the spice, I didn't use one with salt but whatever you use, use a "light hand" to sprinkle. The volume of the Kale will be reduced by something like 90%. That means the spice (being spread over that much smaller volume) will be concentrated many times. My kale was curly - it also said it was "triple washed," so I skipped the wash step on the second batch. This was my first experience with kale. The 'chips' did have a broccoli aftertaste, but it wasn't extreme. I readily agree that I'm no expert, but I'd think that's a function of the kale.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2014
This is SO good!! I used prewashed and cut bagged kale making it so fast and easy to make. I'm also glad I did because the bag is really big and I can't stop eating these kale chips!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2014
Too salty for me. Even though you can adjust the amount of salt, trying to get the Kale dry enough and then to monitor the process in the oven so they were crisp enough wasn't worth the effort for the taste of it. I didn't find them tasty even those that were crisp. I won't be using this recipe again. I do enjoy Kale soup however on the package of the pre-washed Kale.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2014
I need to play with this more to get it right. The pieces shrink a lot, and I tore them too small. Timing on the cooking, as mentioned by many others, is tricky. It is hard to get all the pieces to the same level of crispy. I used a half packet of ranch powder instead of the seasoning salt... I could probably have done a 1/3 of a packet. Overall, this recipe has a lot of potential. I like the taste of the crisps, and they are pretty easy to make. Plus my dog likes to gnaw on the kale ribs!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 1,462) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Baked Kale Chips

See how to make this popular low-calorie crispy snack.

Baked Zucchini Chips

See how to make crispy, low-calorie baked zucchini chips.

Spicy Sweet Potato Chips

See how to make crispy baked sweet potato chips with a cayenne kick.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States