Baked Honey Nut Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2013
OMG! I loved this recipe enough to use the phrase OMG! I was short on honey though and instead put 1/4C of maple syrup in with the egg in addition to honey. Wow, this was awesome served with some mashed potatos and garlic veggies! My 4yo son and my husband both raved about it, so much so that I had to take the baking dish away so they wouldn't make themselves sick! The honey and butter seal in the moistness and the nutty taste makes you come back for more. So incredibly good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2013
Amazing! I don't love chicken, nor sweet meats. But, the rest of my family does. Struggling for dinner ideas without going to the store, I thought I'd give this a try. Instead of breasts, I had 5 boneless, skinless chicken thighs. After reading the reviews, I made a few adjustments. First adjustment: I seasoned the thighs with The Fresh Market's Poultry Spice Rub (sea salt, coriander, garlic, basil, sage, cumin, red chili flakes, black pepper, mustard seed). Second adjustment: I marinated the seasoned thighs in the honey/egg mixture for slightly more than 1 hour. Third Adjustment: In addition to the salt and pepper, I added a dash (maybe 1 1/2 dashes)of curry to the pecan/bread crumb mixture. Because my meat was not very thick, I started out at 325 degrees for 30 minutes, but I couldn't get a reading on my meat thermometer. So, I panicked and increased the temperature to 350 degrees for another 20 minutes. As it turned out, I never got the thermometer to work, but the chicken was done (slightly overdone probably) and delicious! Not only did my husband and son love it, but I even loved it! Extremely flavorful! When I make it again, assuming I use thighs (more flavorful than breasts, usually), I will either bake as directed or at 350 degrees. The chicken itself would've been great continuing at 325, but to get the nutty coating crunchy, the higher temp was best. I tossed some left over honey-glazed carrots and fresh broccoli into some flavored wild rice--perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2013
It was ok. I think I would like it better on boneless chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kim Scott Lakin

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Concord, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2013
The family loved it, will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2012
Ok, I hate rating a changed recipe but the basics are very good. I have to eat gluten free so I substituted rice Chex for the bread crumbs. I just pulsed the cereal, about 2 cups, with about 1 1/2 cups whole pecans in my food processor until it looked the right size. I also pounded my chicken to tenderize it then put it in the egg/honey mix for a couple hours because I had the time. I will make this again! I gave it 4 stars because I changed it and think that the cereal was better than bread crumbs would have been for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2012
Absolutely delicious. Don't change a thing - this recipe is perfect with the right balance of flavours.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2012
This was easy and tasted great. There was a little sweetness from the honey and crunch from the nuts. I used pecans. Next time I would use a food processor to chop the nuts, it would be faster than using a knife like I did this time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mkstevens09

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ortonville, Michigan, USA
Living In: Lake Orion, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: May 18, 2012
made this recipe tonight. used three large chicken breasts and sliced them in half. i did cut the recipe in half and it was plenty. just the right number of sweetness. cooked them for 30 minutes and sprayed the glass dish with non-stick spray, as other suggested. I also made some sauteed asparagus and rice; perfect sides! will definitely be adding this to the dinner rotation!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Budd Lake, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2012
This is my husbands favorite chicken recipe. He's the only meat-eater in the house (I'm a vegetarian), so I use half of all the ingredients to make smaller portions. The chicken comes out tender and delicious every time, according to anyone eating it, and it's super easy to make. Thanks for the recipe! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by freedominwordz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2012
I'm rating this four stars only because my boyfriend didn't care for this as much as I did. I would rate it 4 1/2 if I could. I didn't want to spend the money on the nuts, so I bought a small bag of salad topping candied nuts instead, thinking they would add extra flavor, but they ended up over caremalizing and tasting almost burnt. I also had a little trouble getting the nuts to stick because I didn't crush/chop them enough. Next time I'll use my new food processor and it should turn out better. The chicken has a nice sweet taste and the crunch of the nuts was very pleasant. Maybe my boyfriend didn't like it as much because of the different nuts I used... Also some suggestions: I used panko bread crumbs which were very good, but I also wondered if any body has tried cornmeal? I think I will do that next time and update if it's any good! A little personal seasoning, like garlic powder/italian herbs might be good too, although I made it as is and it was good. =)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 164) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Honey Baked Chicken II

Honey, mustard, and curry create a simple, sweet-and-savory baked chicken.

Baked Honey Mustard Chicken

See how to make the perfect weeknight chicken recipe.

Crispy and Tender Baked Chicken Thighs

See how to roast chicken until crispy on the outside and juicy on the inside.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States