Baked Homemade Macaroni and Cheese Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2015
When I decided I was no longer feeding my kids boxed mac n cheese I went hunting for recipes. This is now my go-to mac n cheese recipe!! I've made it several times now and it turns out great ever time!! Soo good! Now I'm one of those people who likes to "eye-ball" recipes, so I don't ever measure my pasta. For the amount of sauce you make I typically use a whole box of macaroni. And I add extra cheese. I've found sharp cheddar gives me the best flavor. I also add extra seasoning to my cheese sauce. We like things just a little more spicy, the sauce needed a little zing. The last time I made it I added some extra shredded sharp cheddar to the dish once the sauce and pasta were mixed. I really like the way it came out. This is THE mac n cheese recipe for us!! And the topping is so good!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2015
I halved the recipe because two people cannot eat a 9x13" pan in this house. Definitely needs more salt. Followed another reviewers tip and made paste with butter and flour in pan first, then add milk, then add cheese. DO NOT ADD ALL TO PAN AT SAME TIME, you will ruin your mac!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2015
The result was awesome. A few changes, after combining the butter and flour & cooking until bubbly, slowly whisk in the milk and cook until slightly thickened then add the shredded cheese. It was perfect after baking for 30 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2015
No taste what's so ever! Very bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2015
This was wonderful. I am allergic to cow dairy (excepting butter) so I was excited to find a recipe for mac and cheese where I could simply make goat dairy substitutions. I scaled down the ingredients to make 1/4 the original, used panko in place of crackers, and baked it in the toaster oven. I worried about there being so much more sauce than macaroni, but figured a lot of the liquid would get absorbed as well as boil out. As the vessel I used was deep (instead of wide), I lengthened the time of baking (to about an hour). Perfection! Boy, I've missed mac and cheese... I'll make this again and be creative next time. I'm pleased as pudding with this base recipe. Big thanks to Jody for submitting it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2015
I loved it just made it for Easter and just finished it all three days later and it tasted as good as the first day, love the ritz cracker on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kamilah Broddie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2015
Good and easy! I also started with a roux adding finely chopped onions. I added a little Dijon mustard to the sauce. My son was home from college eating 3 huge helpings. Success!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2015
I followed the recipe as is and found it to be a bit bland. The only thing that could have made it different than the recipe posted is I used unsalted butter instead of salted butter. I don't think I would make this again unless it was tweaked to have more flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christine Baker

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2015
It is a good base but needs flavor. Next time I would add garlic powder, a little more cheese and use SHARP Cheddar. Maybe add less pasta or make more sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2015
Super easy and sucessful! I didn't have any butter crackers on hand, so I used cheezits instead and it turned out fabulously! I'm happy and no longer hungry!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linlee Searcy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 209) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Baked Homemade Macaroni and Cheese

A buttery cracker topping and rich cheese sauce make it a family favorite.

Baked Mac and Cheese for One

See how to make creamy mac-and-cheese in individual portions.

Baked Macaroni and Cheese III

This baked mac and cheese is so delicious, your guests will beg for seconds.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States