Baked Homemade Macaroni and Cheese Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 21, 2009
This was really good! I think the second reviewer was confused by the third step. Don't add everything together all at once; instead cook the butter and flour into a roux, then add the milk, then the cheese, slowly. I also added about a half teaspoon each of paprika and dry mustard, and mixed more grated cheese into the ritz crumbles. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
306 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2009
ok me and my fiance loooove macaroni and cheese. we have tried tons of macaroni and cheese recipes.. but this by farrrrr was our favorite! DELICIOUS! well it also helps that extra sharp cheddar is our favorite cheese and we always have a brick of it in our fridge. EXCELLENT! nice and creamy and the topping was amazing! i used the other reviewers advice and added parmesian to the topping and i also used garlic croutons instead of ritz crackers. THE BEST!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
200 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Triciam_2

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2009
I don't normally try a recipe off this site unless it gets at least 4 1/2 stars from 100 people or more, but I was looking for a recipe that called for simple ingredients that I already had, and this one fit the bill. So I gave it a try, and it was really very good. The only change I made was that I didn't add the cracker crumb topping. I sprinkled extra cheese on top before baking. Everyone in my family loved it, and it was even better the next day! * I will add that the butter/flour/milk/cheese mixture never did thicken on top of the stove, but it firmed up nicely while baking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
147 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Schoolin' Mom

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2009
This recipe was pretty good. Instead of throwing all ingredients together as the recipe indicates, I made a Roux with flour butter and milk, when that thickened I added shredded cheddar, and let that melt. Once thickened, I poured the sauce over cooked macaroni in a casserole dish. I topped it with seasoned breadcrumbs instead of crackers, and grated parmesan cheese before baking. Everyone enjoyed it. For more flavor, I will incorporate different cheeses next time, and maybe a spot of garlic to warm the flavor. Word to the wise..( this re cipe is not easy on the disgestive system ) But nonetheless it was creamy and yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tilena211
Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2009
I used bread crumbs instead of crackers and poured the melted butter on top of it, it was great. The family enjoyed it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New Boston, Michigan, USA
Living In: Jerome, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2010
Yummmmmmy!! Thank you for sharing this recipe I don't think I will ever be able to go back to a box. lol
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SSiguaw

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Blaine, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2010
This was quite good, I did use 3 differnt types of cheese, cheddar, extra sharp and mozzerella, I also used pepper and did not do the cracker topping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chelle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2009
Excellent recipe. It was so good, I shared it with the neighbors, they thought it was so good, they want me to copy the recipe for them
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2009
Didn't like this at all and I love mac and cheese. Needs more flavor or something to give it a kick. Will keep looking for a better homemade mac and cheese recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2010
Great recipe! I overcooked the macaroni but it still turned out tasting great. I ended up using half cheddar cheese and half pepper jack, it added a nice kick! Will definitely be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 181) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Baked Homemade Macaroni and Cheese

A buttery cracker topping and rich cheese sauce make it a family favorite.

Baked Mac and Cheese for One

See how to make creamy mac-and-cheese in individual portions.

Baked Macaroni and Cheese III

This baked mac and cheese is so delicious, your guests will beg for seconds.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States