Baked Homemade Macaroni and Cheese Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 11, 2009
Excellent recipe. It was so good, I shared it with the neighbors, they thought it was so good, they want me to copy the recipe for them
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2009
Didn't like this at all and I love mac and cheese. Needs more flavor or something to give it a kick. Will keep looking for a better homemade mac and cheese recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2009
This was really good! I think the second reviewer was confused by the third step. Don't add everything together all at once; instead cook the butter and flour into a roux, then add the milk, then the cheese, slowly. I also added about a half teaspoon each of paprika and dry mustard, and mixed more grated cheese into the ritz crumbles. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
315 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2009
ok me and my fiance loooove macaroni and cheese. we have tried tons of macaroni and cheese recipes.. but this by farrrrr was our favorite! DELICIOUS! well it also helps that extra sharp cheddar is our favorite cheese and we always have a brick of it in our fridge. EXCELLENT! nice and creamy and the topping was amazing! i used the other reviewers advice and added parmesian to the topping and i also used garlic croutons instead of ritz crackers. THE BEST!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
207 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Triciam_2

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2009
This is a really great recipe, I have two fussy little boys and they loved it, as did everyone else in my family!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2009
I don't normally try a recipe off this site unless it gets at least 4 1/2 stars from 100 people or more, but I was looking for a recipe that called for simple ingredients that I already had, and this one fit the bill. So I gave it a try, and it was really very good. The only change I made was that I didn't add the cracker crumb topping. I sprinkled extra cheese on top before baking. Everyone in my family loved it, and it was even better the next day! * I will add that the butter/flour/milk/cheese mixture never did thicken on top of the stove, but it firmed up nicely while baking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
153 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Schoolin' Mom

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2009
I used bread crumbs instead of crackers and poured the melted butter on top of it, it was great. The family enjoyed it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New Boston, Michigan, USA
Living In: Jerome, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2009
I agree, first melt butter and add flour. Next slowly add the milk. Then add the cheese by the handfuls. I added dry mustard as well and my husband added some hot sauce for a kick. The entire family enjoyed it very much! Keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2009
Followed the recipe all the way; cooked the cheese, milk, flour, etc for over an hour and it was still very "watery". The end product soupy mac and cheese!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HDbikerchick

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Lauderdale, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2009
loveee this recipe. i know this is wierd. lol. but this exact recipe is a old family recipe of mine also. is your friend katie related to any fairbrothers?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SarenaM.

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 188) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Baked Homemade Macaroni and Cheese

A buttery cracker topping and rich cheese sauce make it a family favorite.

Baked Mac and Cheese for One

See how to make creamy mac-and-cheese in individual portions.

Baked Macaroni and Cheese III

This baked mac and cheese is so delicious, your guests will beg for seconds.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States