Baked Homemade Macaroni and Cheese Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2013
Thank you, Jody.. I have made your recipe many times and it is always a winner. I tweak it a bit and do add-ins of ham or bacon sometimes but your basic recipe is what I go to every time. Excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Newark, Delaware, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2013
This was good but needed a little something. Maybe next time I will put 2 cheeses instead of 1 to vary the flavor. I also didn't use the crackers but instead used the bread crumbs as recommended.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Easton, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2013
It has the creaminess we're looking for but not the flavor. We'll keep looking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tiffany Millin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Oshkosh, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2013
A lot of times mac-and-cheese can come out bland so I was a bit hesitant to try this version. However, with the tips that the reviewers gave I found that with minor alterations this recipe can come out really good! First of all, I like to alter recipes to make them easy, and quick (with little mess). This recipe would probably taste awesome with fresh grated cheese, but I don't have the patience for that so I bought the bagged shredded cheese, and it was fine! I bought 1- 7oz bag of SHARP cheddar, and 1-8oz bag of "Mac & Cheese Mix" which was American and Swiss. I was short an ounce, so I added 1/4 cup parmesan that I already had at home. I made a roux, added the milk & cheese and some Lawry's salt. The mixture seemed soupy so I was a bit worried, but it baked fine, and it wasn't runny after it baked. I also bought a bag of garlic croutons (as suggested by another reviewer), crushed the whole bag, and added this on top instead of the crackers... best idea ever!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2013
This was fantastic. My husband actually called it "awesome" and he has a very discriminating palate. I omitted additional salt, however, because the butter and Ritz have plenty.... but man, this was awesome. Thanks for sharing! Next up... we add jalapenos and bacon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melinda Dunphy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2013
I loved it, so rich and creamy and I was just making a tuna casserole......it was fantastic......some people love the plain old boring.......yuk!....I loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shannon Lane Wilson

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Yellow Springs, Ohio, USA
Living In: Crossville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2013
This was amazing! Theres a pretty funny story about when I made it, but it was absolutely delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ashley
Reviewed: May 20, 2013
This is delicious! So cheesy! My whole family loved it. I did add 1/2 teaspoon of dry mustard and 1/2 teaspoon of pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2013
Not impressed with this recipe at all! Very bland, not the creamy texture I was looking for. I did not add the crumbs on top but I don't think it would have helped at all. I will keep looking for the perfect mac and cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2013
This was really good! I made it Gluten Free: -Substituted the all purpose flour with Bob's Red Mill Baking Mix -Substituted the elbow macaroni with Trader Joe's Corn Pasta Penne (Although I think a noodle other than penne would work better, corn or rice spiral.) -I prefer almond milk over regular milk - so I substituted 4 c of milk for 3 c of unsweetened original almondmilk. Next time I will try adding some parmesan as well as adding a gluten free bread crumb topping. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 203) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Baked Homemade Macaroni and Cheese

A buttery cracker topping and rich cheese sauce make it a family favorite.

Baked Mac and Cheese for One

See how to make creamy mac-and-cheese in individual portions.

Baked Macaroni and Cheese III

This baked mac and cheese is so delicious, your guests will beg for seconds.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States