Baked Homemade Macaroni and Cheese Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2012
Love, love, love this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CLKeegan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2012
This was very good overall. Used half Mexican shredded cheese and half sharp cheddar shredded. Added two Tbsp of Worcestershire and used ziti for the pasta, which hold the sauce and cheese better than macaroni. Served with turkey meatloaf. The ritz topping makes all the difference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2012
It was a huge hit! I added 1/2 tsp of mustard powder, onion powder, garlic powder, paprika and 1/4 tsp turmeric and black pepper. It really added a lot of flavor. My mom and husband added red pepper flakes to theirs but my kids and I liked it as I made it. Also, I left off the cracker topping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2012
My family loved this. A few notes - use a pound of sharp cheddar. It makes a BIG difference. Other cheddars may leave you with a bland dish. Also, I had to use cavatelli (it's what I had) but measuring that by cup left me with too few noodles floating in a sea of sauce. I had to cook more pasta and add it to the pan. I ended up using 12 oz. of cavatelli. I used the traditional "roux" method of making the sauce - cook the butter and flour (I added 3 cloves minced garlic and a few shakes of cayenne) for a minute or two without letting it brown, then gradually pour in the warm milk and whisk. It comes together quickly and smoothly. Cold milk straight from the fridge will take longer to "sauce up". 2% milk is fine. Mine actually baked up and browned in less than 45 minutes so watch your oven. When the top is brown and it doesn't "jiggle" too much, pull it out. Thank you for sharing your recipe, Jody!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JCAFELD

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: North Canton, Ohio, USA
Living In: El Segundo, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2012
Turned out great! Very simple. I took the advice and made a roux first then slowly mixed in the cheese. Also added cheese with the cracker topping. Baked beautifully and tasted delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gsugin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2012
This is very good, I used 2 cups of evaporated milk and 2 cups of milk instead of all milk. I will def make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2012
My family loved this version. I think I will add onion next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2012
This recipe was delicious. I made it for a friend, but I did not have a 9x13 pan, I only had a 9x9, luckily it fit, it just needed to be cooked a little longer. I then reheated it the next day for someone else and it was still good. It was super easy to make and I loved it. Just remember to use 2% or whole milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2012
I made this dish and went according to the perople who said to make a rue, I also doubled the recipe to share with neighbors. It is amazing!! the perfect comfort food.My only change is I added 1/4 cup parmesian I had left over and wanted to use.omg though so fattening, however if you plan to just splurge it is a real treat!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2012
I made this for dinner tonight for myself, my boyfriend and my 7 year old. We're all big food lovers, and none of us can resist a good homemade mac n'cheese. Sadly, I misplaced my usual recipe and thought Id give this one a try. Won't be doing that again. First, as I was making it, I thought that 4 cups of milk seemed a bit much. But I continued on. I made the cheese sauce the way I do a gravy, starting with butter and flour, then slowly adding the milk. It didnt thicken much, due to the amount of milk. So I decided to add the cheese and see if it helped. This is when I first realized that it takes TWO whole bags of shredded cheese! I was slightly appalled...buut kept going, since id already wasted 4 cups of milk. It did thicken, obviously, but when I poured it on to the macaroni, there was sooo much sauce that the pasta was practically swimming! I added some ham and peas, then topped with breadcrumbs and put in the oven. After 45 minutes, I took it out, but it was still a bit runny and not at all browned. I left it in for another 15 minutes then decided it was as good as it was gonna get. It did thicken in the oven, but it was too saucy to brown. The general consenses was that it was edible, but not that great. The texture was... broken up? Almost grainy. I definitely will not be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dover, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 172) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Baked Homemade Macaroni and Cheese

A buttery cracker topping and rich cheese sauce make it a family favorite.

Baked Mac and Cheese for One

See how to make creamy mac-and-cheese in individual portions.

Baked Macaroni and Cheese III

This baked mac and cheese is so delicious, your guests will beg for seconds.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States