Baked Homemade Macaroni and Cheese Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2010
I made this as a side recipe with Easter Dinner. It was a big hit!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2010
This was quite good, I did use 3 differnt types of cheese, cheddar, extra sharp and mozzerella, I also used pepper and did not do the cracker topping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chelle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2010
This was perfect. I added 1 jalepeno and garlic powder, dry mustard and paprika. I melted butter and added bread crumbs with some parmesean to make the crumb topping. Delicious!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2010
I loved this! Made the roux first then melted in the cheese. I used a mixture of cheddar and pepper jack which I feel gave it just the right amount of kick. Also I topped it with panko instead of the crackers mainly because I didnt have any, but also I prefer panko because it adds a nice crunch. My ONLY complaint about this was it had a grainy texture and I would have prefered a creamier texture. Not sure how to fix that, maybe next time I will bake this in a deeper yet smaller dish. The one I used was VERY large and that may have contributed to the grainy dry texture. I will be making this one again, maybe will experiment a little to find a better texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dalton, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2010
I absoloutely LOVED this recipe. It seemed a bit soupy before the baking. However, when I pulled it out of the oven I found that it was nice and firm. I served this to my family and everyone agreed. This is delicious. It's the ideal comfort food and the butter cracker topping is yummy. I'll be making it again for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2010
This is exactly how I've always made mac & cheese. I add a little mustard powder & some poultry seasoning to the cheese for a little more flavor & sprinkle stuffing mix (Bell's) on top for flavor & crunch. Mmmm...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2010
I did not care for this mac n cheese at all, and neither did my husband. I prefer a creamier macaroni and cheese; I like using meunster or gorgonzola, in my recipes to kick up the flavor and add more of a "creamy cheesy" aspect. The texture of my dish was grainy. When making the cheese sauce, I treated it the way I would a gravy: meling the butter, whisking in the flour, then added milk while whisking to ensure a nice smooth base. Once I completed that step I gradually added the cheese, yet the texture still wasn't right. The flavor was also a bland. I added a little more salt, pepper, and a pinch of cayenne just to kick it up a notch. The last reason I gave this dish such a low rating was the recipe itself. For new cooks who may not realize that you need to make a rue out of your flour, butter, and milk, this could be a real disastrous dish. Furthermore, I had to broil mine for about two minutes in order to get a nice crisp top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2010
Best mac and cheese I've ever made. I cooked the butter and flour together, than added milk, right before it boiled I added the cheese. I also used regular bread crumbs insted of crackers. I used an awsome applewood smoked cheddar that my 9 year old loves, and she ate it all and asked for more! I put left-overs that I didn't bake in the freezer and it was awsome 2 weeks later! Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2010
Love this dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2010
Definitely a good start-out recipe. I added a couple of things based on others suggestions. And my one year old even liked it! Thank you :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Good Lookin' Cookin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Encinitas, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 170) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Baked Homemade Macaroni and Cheese

A buttery cracker topping and rich cheese sauce make it a family favorite.

Baked Mac and Cheese for One

See how to make creamy mac-and-cheese in individual portions.

Baked Macaroni and Cheese III

This baked mac and cheese is so delicious, your guests will beg for seconds.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States