Baked Ham Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2009
I cooked this ham with 1 liter of soda in a crockpot and was very good and very simple! I received raved reviews from all of my guests.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: Cedar Hill, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2009
This was really good.I trimmed alot of the fat off and scored it and studed it with cloves . I like the flavor. Then i packed brown sugar on the ham. I used enough pepsi to cover the ham when the air was squeezed out of the bag. I also put in a single size serving can of pineapple juice. Smelled great. I just didnt think it looked all that appealing but it tasted good. It may have been because I trimmed it. But it had a thick rind on it and i just wanted it gone. I will use this recipe again cause it was simple.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2009
I have been using this recipe for many, many years. I do use a can of clear soda. I have used sprite, 7 up, & mountain dew. I also add the brown sugar to the top. Such an easy, no fuss meal! Happy Holidays
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Aurora, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jackie
Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2009
This was my first ham and it turned out delicious!! The only thing I did different was rub brown sugar all over it and I don't put mine in a bag because I baste it often with the Coke or Pepsi. I prefer Pepsi. I will be making again for Christmas!! Also I just use a Smithfield half ham. Thanks :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jackie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Smyrna, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Beechgrove, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2009
Very good. I marinated the ham in Cherry pepsi the night before. Before I cooked it I scored the ham, made the diamond cuts, coated it with brown sugar, cloves, pineapples and cherries. It was very good, tender and moist! My co-worker also tried the recipe and said this is the first time her ham went the first day! She used maple syrup in addition to the brown sugar, pineapples, and cherries.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2009
i first made his when my brother passed and i had to cook for the repass. everyone kept asking how did i get it so tendor and all were surprised by my coke can answer. that was 5 years ago. i only make ham once maybe twice a year and this is the only recipe i use!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2009
This turned out great. I used pepsi and added some dark brown sugar and a little bit of ground cloves. I twisted the bag shut, but didn't poke holes in it. I did have to let steam out once about 3/4 the way through and turned the ham at that time. AWESOME. I only wish I would have bought a bigger ham!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lzhuber

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Okeene, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Germantown, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2009
what a simple yet perfect way to cook ham. I have used it 3 times (we raise our own pigs) and it just works.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cindy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lancaster, New Hampshire, USA
Living In: Whitefield, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Shasta
Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2009
This was the easiet ham I have ever made. I didn't have any oven bags on hand so I just poured the soda over the ham in the pan and covered with tin foil. It was so quick and easy I couldn't believe it. I covered it for the first hour and then left it uncovered for the second hour. I also basted it every 30 minutes. My husband doesn't like ham and pineapple (I know... weird), so this was the next best thing. Next time I will try it with Diet Cherry Coke. Yum!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shasta

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2009
So tender and juicy! And, isn't that all you really need out of a ham? I scored the ham and added pineapple and brown sugar, but I don't think that any of the additions actually flavored the meat. The method of cooking is what's the key to this - it makes the meat so juicy! I cooked an 18 pound whole ham, and it only took 4 hours for the internal temp. to reach 140, the recommended temp.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cooks4forty

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Stoughton, Wisconsin, USA

Displaying results 51-60 (of 216) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Baked Ham

See how to make an easy, old-fashioned baked ham with cloves and brown sugar.

Cola Easter Ham

Cola does flavor-building wonders for baked Easter ham.

Slow Cooker Ham

This recipe for Easter or Christmas ham takes “no fuss” to the extreme.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States