Baked Ham Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2013
Ham can be really dry after a couple of hours in the oven but when fixed with the oven bag and a can of cola, the ham was moist and very tasty. The cola doesn't affect the flavor but it does keep the ham nice and juicy. And.... clean-up is a snap!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ROOKIE COOKIE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Big Stone Gap, Virginia, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2013
Disclaimer: Make sure you baste it! (keep reading...) My Grandmother got this recipe from a friend about 20 yrs ago. She made it simply the way it said. Put it in the bag, pour the diet coke over it, tie 'er up, and bake for a long time on low heat. And baste it with the juices about once every hour. I just poke a turkey baster through one of the holes on one side, suck up some of the juices, then squirt them all over the ham. Do that on both sides. Other than that, no maintenance needed. She usually cooked it about 6-8 hours. Sometimes overnight. By the time it was done, It was falling off the bone! I've been using that recipe for years and it is amazing!! Sometimes, like tonight, I use Dr. Pepper instead of Diet Coke. Great replacement because it has that kinda cherry flavor to it. =)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2013
Moist, delicious ham! We made this recipe today for Easter, along with the Yummy Sweet Potato Casserole recipe by Tina B. This was super easy, my ex marinated the ham in the soda the night before, added the brown sugar, and close the bag again. We cooked it low and slow, and it was wonderful. I bought a fairly inexpensive store-brand ham, and this recipe made it so tender. Thank you for sharing this simple, terrific recipe, Mary. We will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2012
This recipe was awesome. Marinaded my 10 lb, precooked, smoked ham in bag with two cans of diet coke the night before rotating as much as possible then drained, rubbed ham with spicy brown mustard & horseradish sauce, packed with brown sugar then added new coke and baked. It turned out AWESOME! Received rave reviews!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2012
Didn't think it was worth the time to prepare
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2012
Did not turn out the way I thought it would.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2012
I marinade it over night using vanilla coke then pour a fresh can in when I put the ham in the oven bag! Everyone loves it, Every time I make it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Burns Harbor, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2012
Love this recipe! I like using Root Beer a little more. The sassafras flavor is so subtle. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2012
This is an easy was to heat up a precooked ham. Mine came out juicy. I did not serve this as a sit down meal with all the fixens and I am glad I didn't. It was the ugliest ham since it all fell apart and was stained with cola. Didn't care about the looks of the ham since I was only using it to make ham salad and casseroles. As a plus this was super easy cleanup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lori

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Niantic, Connecticut, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2012
Best ham I've ever made. I put a 10 pound shank end in the crock pot (had to cover with foil as it was too big to put the lid on) and cooked it overnight while we slept. I just poured coke over the ham until the liquid came about 1/4 way up the side of the crock pot. The meat fell off the bone the next morning, and the juice that the ham/coke made is incredible! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 222) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Versatile Chicken Salad
Versatile Chicken Salad

Pile it into a tomato half, load it into a wrap, or spread it on bread. Chicken salad does it all.

Beautiful Broccoli Salad
Beautiful Broccoli Salad

Broccoli salad makes a great side dish or a light main dish on a warm night.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Baked Ham

See how to make an easy, old-fashioned baked ham with cloves and brown sugar.

Baked Ham and Cheese Party Sandwiches

Try these game-day ready ham and cheese sliders.

Cola Easter Ham

Cola does flavor-building wonders for baked Easter ham.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States