Baked Ham Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2006
I've made this recipe twice now and both times it was excellent. I used a spiral sliced half ham and soaked it cut side down overnight with a full can of Coke (in a bag in the fridge of course). Right before cooking I put some brown sugar on the outside (probably not needed at all) and put it in the oven for a little less than 1.5 hours at 325 degrees (it was an 8.5 lb ham). The ham was so tasty and tender. It just melted in my mouth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA
Living In: Sandy, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2006
This was wonderful! We could not quit eating it! Then later I took it out for my son and his fiance. They couldn't quit eating it either! Finally they begged me to put it away! It is so simple and it has a wonderful flavor! We followed directions exactly! We have used a regular ham and a spiral cut ham and it turned out wonderful either way. We made it at Thanksgiving and we are making it again for Christmas! Thank you for sharing this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by The Dahl House

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2006
This was by far the WORST ham I have ever tasted. We followed the directions to a T, and it was sticky and mushy in texture. The cooking time is far too long for a pre-cooked ham. DO NOT USE SPIRAL SLICED HAM WITH THIS RECIPE!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
59 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2006
I had heard of the cola thing before but had never tried it as I didn't know what else to do to it. This made for a most delicious and moist ham. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Empire, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2006
Very tender! I cut my ham into 4 thick slices as didn't have the time to cook it per the recipe. It was very tender and juicy. It does darken the meat a lot as another reviewer mentioned, but the taste was excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JanetCanuck

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2006
Delish!! I made this on my family vacation last September and everyone loved it!! I used an entire can of Pepsi and it was so juicy. It was so easy, I put it in the oven and was able to enjoy the remainder of the afternoon sitting pool side. I complimented the ham with the Oven Roasted New Potatoes recipe that is also found on this site. We warmed up both the leftover ham and potatoes the next morning and served with eggs. We still had leftover ham and we enjoyed sandwiches at lunch the next day. YUMMY!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2006
OMG! Happy Easter Ham!! This was the best. I did add some brown sugar and cloves. When I took it out of the bag it fell apart. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jean

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Saugatuck, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2006
This was the BEST ham I've ever eaten! My family ate it up faster than the turkey even though they're huge turkey fans. My ham was frozen and I put it in the turkey bag with a can of coke a few days before to thaw it out (in the fridge). I followed the rest of the directions exactly and couldn't have asked for better results. I will definately be using the recipe whenever I cook ham. Everyone in my family said this would be the only way they will cook ham also!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ROCKSTARCHARMER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Wichita, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2006
Suzanne, My mother, who died in 2001 at 88, cooked a ham like this for many, many years, only she put it in a heavy paper bag and poured in Coca-Cola! How delightful to read your recipe. I know it's a five star! Joan
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2006
This turned out great for our x-mas eve dinner! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

Displaying results 141-150 (of 218) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Baked Ham

See how to make an easy, old-fashioned baked ham with cloves and brown sugar.

Cola Easter Ham

Cola does flavor-building wonders for baked Easter ham.

Slow Cooker Ham

This recipe for Easter or Christmas ham takes “no fuss” to the extreme.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States