Baked Ham Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2010
This was simple and great! I trimmed the fat and skin then rubbed it with brown sugar minutes before baking. Marinaded overnight in Coke. Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Maryville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2010
I have been using this recipe for years. I get requests for this at any holiday get-together. It's so simple and quick. I have been reading some of the reviews, and I have to say: Do not use a "canned" ham. Do not use an uncooked ham. Do not use a spiral cut ham. Do follow the directions, and you will get what's in the picture. I will be using this recipe 3 more times this year. YUM
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2010
A little flavorless, but moist- cuts with a fork. Used a bone-in 8 pound shank ham, trimmed. Added a couple handfuls of brown sugar. BUT Follow other suggestions if you can and marinate overnight in coke (or rootbeer) and/or add a can of pineapple to the bag. Tasted similar to packaged lunchmeat ham in wetness and flavor. Didn't need to cook it as long as it said (took 2 hrs 20 min for 8lbs). Could be a 5 star recipe if there was more flavor!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2010
SOOOO good and easy!!! Love this recipe just the way it is!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2010
fantastic
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Aberdeen, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2010
so easy! made if for Easter and it was tender and juicy and flavorful. the "sauce" the soda made was a nice complement.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2010
This was my first attempt at ham that I made for my entire family for Easter. It was absolutely delicious and the best ham I have tasted. I added/changed a few things based upon other reviews. I used a 9.5lb shank that I marinated in coke for 6 hours. Put the ham in a roasting pan, poured coke over top to fill the bottom of the pan. Rubbed the ham with brown sugar and then poured a can of crushed pineapple on top. Covered tightly with foil and cooked at 325 for 4 hours, basting every 30 minutes or so. It was so tender and juicy. Will definitely do again and again. Using leftover ham for potato, ham, and egg bake....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2010
This was very good idea. I have never thought to use a baking bag and it made this super easy and moist without basting. I did add brown sugar to it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lil'MadSavy

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2009
Very moist. My husband loved it. Will cook my ham this way from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2009
Like most of the others, this was my first baked ham. It turned out great. I also marinated overnight in the Pepsi and put on a glaze before cooking. I would change the cooking time though. I used a guide of 20 minutes per pound. I think this was a little too long (for a partially cooked ham). I would use a meat thermometer at about 15 minutes per pound to see it was done. Otherwise, I will definetly make this again. I had a 13 lb ham and there were NO leftovers!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 219) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Baked Ham

See how to make an easy, old-fashioned baked ham with cloves and brown sugar.

Cola Easter Ham

Cola does flavor-building wonders for baked Easter ham.

Glazed Ham

Raw ham is slow roasted and seasoned with a sweet smoky sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States