Baked Ham Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2011
Like others, I have been fixing my hams this way for years. I usually just buy a boneless ham for the two of us. I think some had the impression that the Coke would change the flavor of the ham entirely. It doesn't. It ensures a beautifully cooked, very moist ham, with maybe a little sweetness. For a little more zest, I place the ham in the bag, pour the Coke in the bottom of the bag, then rub yellow mustard all over the top and sides of ham, pack on brown sugar, anchor some pineapple rings to the top, then pour some of the pineapple juice in with the Coke. You can also use 7-Up or Dr. Pepper instead of the Coke.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kjwms

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA
Living In: Des Moines, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2011
Super simple, pretty tasty. Got lots of compliments.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kimisarita

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2011
I made this ham for my fiance's family during the holidays and it was a big hit! I only made a couple minor changes (as noted in other comments). I marinated the ham in coke overnight - rotating a few times to make sure all sides were covered. When I was ready to cook the ham, I placed it in a new oven bag, poured a new can of coke over it, and then rubbed it with brown sugar. Baked for 20 minutes per pound and it came out perfectly! Everyone loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Bolingbrook, Illinois, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2011
This recipe is fantastic! Made it for Thanksgiving, and it was a huge hit. I followed other raters advice and smashed some brown sugar on the ham right before baking. It was perfect! The only thing is the drippings don't make very good gravy, but it was okay.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2011
I give this recipe 4 stars because the gist of the recipe is PHENOMENAL! My mom has been cooking holiday ham like this since before I can remember. I would definitely rate her holiday ham 5 stars! There are some major differences in the two recipes, however. My mom always used spiral sliced ham, for one. Also, instead of putting it in a turkey bag, she just put it in a deep metal baking dish (the ones commonly found during the holidays) and covered it with aluminum foil. Here are the two biggest differences, though, that I feel change the outcome drastically: she uses 1 can (HAS to be a can) of coca cola (pours half of the can over the ham before baking, and pours the last half on an hour before taking out of the oven) and she never trims the fat!! She simply cooks the ham fat-side up. Makes the ham unbelievably tender! If you're worried about health, serve it with steamed veggies or only trim half of the fat. Trust me, it's worth it! One more thing...She always cooked it for about 12 hours. Great for cooking overnight and waking up to that wonderful smell on Thanksgiving morning! Hope someone found this helpful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
57 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2011
i added brown sugar and a shot of jack daniel's honey to the coke
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ron Laird

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2011
I'm sure I could spend $5 to $10 more on additional ingredients for a "better" ham . . . but this approach is about all I need to keep two growing boys happy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2011
tastes yummy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2011
The only ingredients I had on hand were cola, brown sugar and pineapple. So here is my version. Marinate ham(8lbs) in cola overnite in oven bag but do not poke holes in bag until ready to bake. Turn bag a few times throughout the process to insure "even-ness". Drain cola(since it's used only to tenderize) and add pineapple with juice and rub brown sugar on ham. I only added 1/2 the sugar. Delicious!!! This was the best Easter ham ever....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2011
Such a great recipe! Very easy and tastes amazing. Made this for Easter and everyone loved it. Thank you!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 219) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Baked Ham

See how to make an easy, old-fashioned baked ham with cloves and brown sugar.

Cola Easter Ham

Cola does flavor-building wonders for baked Easter ham.

Slow Cooker Ham

This recipe for Easter or Christmas ham takes “no fuss” to the extreme.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States