Baked Ham Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2009
Very good. I marinated the ham in Cherry pepsi the night before. Before I cooked it I scored the ham, made the diamond cuts, coated it with brown sugar, cloves, pineapples and cherries. It was very good, tender and moist! My co-worker also tried the recipe and said this is the first time her ham went the first day! She used maple syrup in addition to the brown sugar, pineapples, and cherries.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2009
i first made his when my brother passed and i had to cook for the repass. everyone kept asking how did i get it so tendor and all were surprised by my coke can answer. that was 5 years ago. i only make ham once maybe twice a year and this is the only recipe i use!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2009
This turned out great. I used pepsi and added some dark brown sugar and a little bit of ground cloves. I twisted the bag shut, but didn't poke holes in it. I did have to let steam out once about 3/4 the way through and turned the ham at that time. AWESOME. I only wish I would have bought a bigger ham!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lzhuber

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Okeene, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Germantown, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2009
what a simple yet perfect way to cook ham. I have used it 3 times (we raise our own pigs) and it just works.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cindy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lancaster, New Hampshire, USA
Living In: Whitefield, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Shasta
Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2009
This was the easiet ham I have ever made. I didn't have any oven bags on hand so I just poured the soda over the ham in the pan and covered with tin foil. It was so quick and easy I couldn't believe it. I covered it for the first hour and then left it uncovered for the second hour. I also basted it every 30 minutes. My husband doesn't like ham and pineapple (I know... weird), so this was the next best thing. Next time I will try it with Diet Cherry Coke. Yum!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shasta

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2009
So tender and juicy! And, isn't that all you really need out of a ham? I scored the ham and added pineapple and brown sugar, but I don't think that any of the additions actually flavored the meat. The method of cooking is what's the key to this - it makes the meat so juicy! I cooked an 18 pound whole ham, and it only took 4 hours for the internal temp. to reach 140, the recommended temp.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cooks4forty

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Stoughton, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2009
So easy to prepare! I followed the ham package label and started my 8.75 lb shank ham at 325 deg. It was cooking quickly so I turned the temp down a bit. I only cooked it for 2 3/4 hrs, it was darkening and pulling away from the bone. It turned out to be the best ham I've ever cooked. Thanks so much for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2009
This is the only way I will make a ham now. The recipe is perfect. My husband doesn't want the name brand with honey in it anymore. Thanks so much for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2009
Very delicious and easy to prepare. I used a picnic ham. The meat was so moist and tender that it fell off the bone as I was lifting it out of the pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leslie Schnare Harnish

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sambro, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2009
This was delicious! I took it to Thanksgiving with my inlaws (about 50 people, most of whom had been in the restaurant/catering business for year). It was the first time that I ever brought the main dish, and everyone raved about it! Since I could only get a pre-cooked spiral ham, I reduce the cooking time to about 2-3 hours for a 12 pound ham. I marinated it overnight in cola with brouwn sugar rubbed over both sides. Then, during cooking I basted it constantly to make sure that it didn't get dried out. It was super moist and full of flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 222) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Baked Ham

See how to make an easy, old-fashioned baked ham with cloves and brown sugar.

Baked Ham and Cheese Party Sandwiches

Try these game-day ready ham and cheese sliders.

Cola Easter Ham

Cola does flavor-building wonders for baked Easter ham.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States