Baked Ham Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2008
I made 2 hams for my company on Easter Sunday, this one and "No More Salty Ham" also found on this site. Well, both were good, but for all of the extra work No More Salty Ham took, I have to say that cola ham was better. It was so tender and tasty that no one could stop eating it! And it couldn't be easier. My ham was a butt portion Cooks ham and only 7 pounds. I baked it the recommended 4 hours. So good. I will make my hams this way from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anna Mae

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Poughkeepsie, New York, USA
Living In: Highland, New York, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2008
I made this recipe in a crock pot like one of the other reviewers recommended, and it was INCREDIBLY easy and everyone RAVED that it was the most tender, delicious ham they ever had. I do not even really like ham, but had to try some after everyone's comments, and I have to say I agree; it was awesome! I poured 1 can of coke into the crock pot, added a boneless, fully cooked 8 lb Berks ham, and topped with a can of crushed pineapple. I put it on low in the crock pot for 10 hours and that was it. Easy & delicious! Using coke with ham seemed odd, but a relative that went to Chef School later told me that Coke is an excellent meat tenderizer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2008
Very good and easy to prepare.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JULIAGULIA3

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Anchorage, Alaska, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2008
I wasn't very impressed with this recipe at all. I'm giving it three stars because it didn't taste bad. It's just that it tasted like a plain old ham to me. I couldn't tell that the cola even added any flavor at all. I even marinated it over night as some others suggested. I won't be making this again. I usually just do a simple glaze of brown sugar, orange juice, and cloves which adds so much more flavor than following this recipe does.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2008
I will never make a ham any differently. This was such a huge hit. The second time I added some brown sugar. Excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2008
The first time I made this I put the ham in a crock pot. Big mistake, it was so dry. This Easter I used a bone in ham that wasn't pre-sliced, I marinated the ham overnight in the bag with a whole 2 liter of pepsi and I cooked it as the recipe calls for in the oven. This was the BEST ham ever! I am so happy I can finally cook a great ham!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fallston, Maryland, USA
Living In: Sunland Park, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2008
Made this for dinner tonight for 2 guys in the house who don't like ham. They both ate it up and said they really liked it! Maybe because I've got a little cold, I do like ham, but didn't think this was all that special. I made it in the crockpot with a can of diet coke. It was incredibly easy and I'll make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2008
I used a precooked/presliced ham. This was not a good idea. I did let it marinade overnight, but the ham didn't taste like anything, and it was just darker colored on the bottom. I'm not quite sure what I did wrong, except maybe next time I'll try a regular ham.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Krista

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2008
As a mother of two who goes to college and holds down a full time job. I need recipes like this one. This is one of the easiest Hams to make. There is very little prep to do. which can be done the night before. And the long cook time allows me to do homework, or go back to classes or work. The Ham comes out tender as if you slaved over it, yet it is, a bag it, stick in the oven and forget it. I found I can bake potatoes at the same time. Using medium baking taters. Clean them poke with a fork all over 12 to 16 times and wrap in aluminum shinny side toward the tater. Bake along side with Ham on the rack. Taters come out with a moist tender center, and a lightly crisp skin. This gives me time to cook carrots and a good side pasta to make a great dinner. Left overs make great lunch sandwiches for the next couple of days and/or dinner the next night! Mom is the hero again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2007
Very good recipe. First time cooking ham all on my own. Family raved about the taste and how tender it was. Will definitely make this one again!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Hot Springs, South Dakota, USA
Living In: Kennewick, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 219) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Baked Ham

See how to make an easy, old-fashioned baked ham with cloves and brown sugar.

Cola Easter Ham

Cola does flavor-building wonders for baked Easter ham.

Slow Cooker Ham

This recipe for Easter or Christmas ham takes “no fuss” to the extreme.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States