Baked Ham with Sweet Glaze Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Patty Cakes
Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2011
Oh My Oh My what a ham!! I made this for Easter and fixed it exactly as written but I didn't need all the water. Full of moister and great taste too! I also added a teaspoon of ground cloves to the sugar mixture. My family LOVED this ham!! Thank You Thank YOU aellis0923. A True keeper:) YYYEEEAAAHHH BTW, the sauce this ham creates along with it's own juices is terrific on sweet potatoes, which I served along with roasted asparagus, mushrooms,mashed roasted potatoes and rolls. Delish Dish:)Bon Appetit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
73 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Patty Cakes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Long Beach, California, USA
Photo by Joycie52
Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2011
Wonderful, good, moist ham. I made this ham with only a few changes. Cut about an inch diamond pattern over the outside approximately 1/4 inch deep, place a clove in the center of each diamond. Insert a cherry on a toothpick and insert that into the ham and add a pineapple ring - do this over the entire ham. No water, just placed the ham cut side down in a foil lined 9 x 13 baking dish and cooked at 325 for about 1 1/2 hours. Mix the rest of the ingredients along with the drained pineapple juice and cook in the microwave for 3-5 minutes untill thickened. Use the mixture to baste the ham every 15 to 20 minutes for the next 1 1/2 hours.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
59 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joycie52
Living In: Dothan, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2011
This was DELICIOUS! I wanted a sweet thick sauce to pour over the meat to transport easier to a carry-in banquet, and this worked great! While baking the ham as directed, I prepared the glaze over low heat in a sauce pan, with a tad of the pineapple and cherry juice stirred in. When the ham was done I cut it into slices/pieces and placed them in a crock pot. I then mixed a little of the ham (water) juices from the baking pan in with the glaze to make it a little thinner. I poured the glaze over the ham slices and added the pineapple chunks and cherries and stirred to mix it all up. I got lots of compliments, and the ham was so moist cooked this way! LOVED IT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
54 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bev511

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2012
When my son said he wanted ham for his 5th birthday dinner, I freaked out. I had never made a ham a day in my life. My mom suggested buying the already cooked ham cubes and mixing it in with mac and cheese. I was bound and determined to make him a ham with all the fixins. This one was the first one I came across that looked good to me so I tried it. I followed the directions to a tee. The only thing I did differently was placed the ham directly in the pan (no rack as I didn't have one) with the water right in it like stated. Three hours later, it was dinner time and I was stressing. I had no back up plan and my whole family was hungry. This was the most amazing ham I had ever eaten in all of my existance. I had so many compliments. Thank you so much for posting this. This recipe is so fool-proof, its unreal. I felt no need to make any changes to the recipe. I will definitely make this again. Who knows, maybe I'll confidently take on Easter dinner this year. Thanks again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2011
Fantastic recipe. One change that I made was to use a little lemon juice and then add juice from the can of pineapple to reduce the coating to the right consistency.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2011
Just like my Grandma used to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by HopeandJames
Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2012
I gave this 5 stars because the ham was so juicy and tender. I didn't like the honey in the glaze, probably because I'm not a huge fan of honey. so I mixed brown sugar and yellow mustard for a glaze!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HopeandJames

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2012
I decided to make this recipe on Mother's Day! OMG this turned out to be the best ham I've ever made. Everyone loved it and raved about how moist and flavorful it was. I made it EXACTLY as indicated. No modifications required as far as I'm concerned. This recipe is a keeper! Thanks!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bronx, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2012
This ham was beautiful, easy to prepare, and totally delicious! It is sweet, but it tasted so good with the fresh pineapple and cherries . Great presentation. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Janet Shum

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Corbett, Oregon, USA
Living In: Salem, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2013
OMG!!! We made this for my husband's birthday dinner. As I'm typing, he's still sitting there saying, "Oh my gosh!!," and, "Really?" I honestly think this is the best ham I've ever eaten, and so does he. We don't care for the extra candying of the pineapple and cherries...instead we had applesauce on the side. But I can assure you, even without those extras, this was the best ham we've ever had. Thank you so much for making me look good on a special day! :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 26) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Baked Ham

See how to make an easy, old-fashioned baked ham with cloves and brown sugar.

Apricot Brown Sugar Ham

An apricot jam, dry mustard, and brown sugar glaze makes baked ham special.

Slow Cooker Ham

This recipe for Easter or Christmas ham takes “no fuss” to the extreme.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States