Baked Ham with Sweet Glaze Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Patty Cakes
Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2011
Oh My Oh My what a ham!! I made this for Easter and fixed it exactly as written but I didn't need all the water. Full of moister and great taste too! I also added a teaspoon of ground cloves to the sugar mixture. My family LOVED this ham!! Thank You Thank YOU aellis0923. A True keeper:) YYYEEEAAAHHH BTW, the sauce this ham creates along with it's own juices is terrific on sweet potatoes, which I served along with roasted asparagus, mushrooms,mashed roasted potatoes and rolls. Delish Dish:)Bon Appetit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
85 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Patty Cakes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Long Beach, California, USA
Photo by Joycie52
Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2011
Wonderful, good, moist ham. I made this ham with only a few changes. Cut about an inch diamond pattern over the outside approximately 1/4 inch deep, place a clove in the center of each diamond. Insert a cherry on a toothpick and insert that into the ham and add a pineapple ring - do this over the entire ham. No water, just placed the ham cut side down in a foil lined 9 x 13 baking dish and cooked at 325 for about 1 1/2 hours. Mix the rest of the ingredients along with the drained pineapple juice and cook in the microwave for 3-5 minutes untill thickened. Use the mixture to baste the ham every 15 to 20 minutes for the next 1 1/2 hours.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
74 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joycie52
Living In: Dothan, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Hope
Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2012
I gave this 5 stars because the ham was so juicy and tender. I didn't like the honey in the glaze, probably because I'm not a huge fan of honey. so I mixed brown sugar and yellow mustard for a glaze!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hope

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2011
This was DELICIOUS! I wanted a sweet thick sauce to pour over the meat to transport easier to a carry-in banquet, and this worked great! While baking the ham as directed, I prepared the glaze over low heat in a sauce pan, with a tad of the pineapple and cherry juice stirred in. When the ham was done I cut it into slices/pieces and placed them in a crock pot. I then mixed a little of the ham (water) juices from the baking pan in with the glaze to make it a little thinner. I poured the glaze over the ham slices and added the pineapple chunks and cherries and stirred to mix it all up. I got lots of compliments, and the ham was so moist cooked this way! LOVED IT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
65 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bev511

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2012
This ham was beautiful, easy to prepare, and totally delicious! It is sweet, but it tasted so good with the fresh pineapple and cherries . Great presentation. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Janet Shum

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Corbett, Oregon, USA
Living In: Salem, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2011
Fantastic recipe. One change that I made was to use a little lemon juice and then add juice from the can of pineapple to reduce the coating to the right consistency.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2011
Just like my Grandma used to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2012
When my son said he wanted ham for his 5th birthday dinner, I freaked out. I had never made a ham a day in my life. My mom suggested buying the already cooked ham cubes and mixing it in with mac and cheese. I was bound and determined to make him a ham with all the fixins. This one was the first one I came across that looked good to me so I tried it. I followed the directions to a tee. The only thing I did differently was placed the ham directly in the pan (no rack as I didn't have one) with the water right in it like stated. Three hours later, it was dinner time and I was stressing. I had no back up plan and my whole family was hungry. This was the most amazing ham I had ever eaten in all of my existance. I had so many compliments. Thank you so much for posting this. This recipe is so fool-proof, its unreal. I felt no need to make any changes to the recipe. I will definitely make this again. Who knows, maybe I'll confidently take on Easter dinner this year. Thanks again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2012
Loved it great recipe my husband is now refusing his moms ham now.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Corina Keene

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Concord, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MrsFisher0729
Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2012
Yum! We enjoyed this as a weeknight meal with the items that were supposed to be our Easter meal until we were invited somewhere with family. :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsFisher0729

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jonesboro, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 36) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Baked Ham

See how to make an easy, old-fashioned baked ham with cloves and brown sugar.

Glazed Ham

Raw ham is slow roasted and seasoned with a sweet smoky sauce.

Baked Ham and Cheese Party Sandwiches

Try these game-day ready ham and cheese sliders.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States