Baked Ham with Maple Glaze Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2007
For this recipe, use a generous tablespoon of bourbon and omit the red wine vinegar. I used this recipe for sliced baked ham (fully cooked hickory smoked pit ham) that I served to more than 150 people at a function. Each piece of ham was layered in a pan and got a generous helping of sauce in which to marinate through the heating process, which was kept covered on low temperature to heat. For serving, I spashed each plate with a line of the sauce to punctuate and freshen the flavor. This recipe was a huge success...and everyone wanted to know what the "secret" ingredient was!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
94 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: San Pedro, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Traci-in-Cali
Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2008
This was delicious! I've never ventured from our traditional pinapple topped ham until this recipe!.. When mixing the glaze for the top, I almost didn't add the dry mustard because I'd already put in the dijon and I thought it smelled too mustardy, but I did add it and I'm so glad!... While cooking the mustard mellows and the sweet of the maple syrup comes through... I was wishing for more mustard taste as I ate it!.. Next time I think I'll score the ham and let the glaze marinade for a few hours, then cover with foil for the first 30 min. then uncover to nicely brown for the rest of the time!...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
84 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Traci-in-Cali

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2007
Good as is, but would have preferred a stronger maple flavor, even though I used Grade B pure maple syrup. I will probably increase the ratio of syrup to the other ingredients if I make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
76 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2008
This recipe totally kicked the honey glazed ham recipes out of my recipe box. I'm with Travelerdude though; must substitute Jim Beam for the wine vinegar. We've got the authentic maple syrup straight from trips to Quebec and you've gotta use good quality syrup. This is SO simple and SO tasty - no way to mess it up. THANKS for a great dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: High River, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2008
I made a variation of this for a ham over the holidays. We added some honey..it was pretty tasty. Next time we won't shy away from the strong flavors in this recipe...it really does add great flavor to the ham.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Olympia, Washington, USA
Living In: Kirkland, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2006
I agree with both of the other reviews. This is really tasty, and SUPER easy with ingredients you pretty much always have on hand. I would DEFINITELY suggest lining the roasting pan with foil, as burned on sugar is extremely difficult to battle. I just made this tonight and thus haven't won the battle yet - maybe it'd be easier to just buy a new pan? Will definitely use this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2007
This was a good glaze. My ham was almost 10 pounds, so I had to bake it longer and I think I should have put it in an oven bag. It got a little crispy. But I thought the glaze added a nice, subtle flavor and was very easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PULLEYHEATHER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Collins, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2007
The taste was fantastic. My boyfriend loved it! I did not buy whole ham; I used thick sliced ham from the deli (about 3 slices). It came out really nice
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Helen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2007
This is a very easy recipe to make and satisfied even the pickiest of eaters. When I made it I made a bigger ham- and made a bit more than twice the sauce. It worked really well. I don't like messing with a bone so I used a teardrop ham and it tasted really well. I had absolutely no problems with cleaning pans afterwards- I did not use a "traditional" roasting pan, but used french corning roaster so that might have made the difference. This is not only good to eat warm but makes wonderful sandwiches later too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dickinson, North Dakota, USA
Living In: Bismarck, North Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2006
This was fabulous. My husband and kids loved it! Will definitely make it again. Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 79) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Baked Ham

See how to make an easy, old-fashioned baked ham with cloves and brown sugar.

Apricot Brown Sugar Ham

An apricot jam, dry mustard, and brown sugar glaze makes baked ham special.

Slow Cooker Ham

This recipe for Easter or Christmas ham takes “no fuss” to the extreme.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States