Baked Ham with Maple Glaze Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2008
This recipe totally kicked the honey glazed ham recipes out of my recipe box. I'm with Travelerdude though; must substitute Jim Beam for the wine vinegar. We've got the authentic maple syrup straight from trips to Quebec and you've gotta use good quality syrup. This is SO simple and SO tasty - no way to mess it up. THANKS for a great dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: High River, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2007
This was delicious. Very easy to make, too. I used this recipe for our Christmas ham.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by What a Dish!

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2007
I thought this was just okay. There was something off about the flavor. I think from now on I will just stick to a little dijon mustard and lots of brown sugar. Sorry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2007
This was a good glaze. My ham was almost 10 pounds, so I had to bake it longer and I think I should have put it in an oven bag. It got a little crispy. But I thought the glaze added a nice, subtle flavor and was very easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PULLEYHEATHER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Collins, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2007
I love this glaze. Sweet with the tangy vinegar! Love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2007
Good as is, but would have preferred a stronger maple flavor, even though I used Grade B pure maple syrup. I will probably increase the ratio of syrup to the other ingredients if I make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
82 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2007
The taste was fantastic. My boyfriend loved it! I did not buy whole ham; I used thick sliced ham from the deli (about 3 slices). It came out really nice
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Helen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2007
For this recipe, use a generous tablespoon of bourbon and omit the red wine vinegar. I used this recipe for sliced baked ham (fully cooked hickory smoked pit ham) that I served to more than 150 people at a function. Each piece of ham was layered in a pan and got a generous helping of sauce in which to marinate through the heating process, which was kept covered on low temperature to heat. For serving, I spashed each plate with a line of the sauce to punctuate and freshen the flavor. This recipe was a huge success...and everyone wanted to know what the "secret" ingredient was!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
116 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: San Pedro, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2007
This is a very easy recipe to make and satisfied even the pickiest of eaters. When I made it I made a bigger ham- and made a bit more than twice the sauce. It worked really well. I don't like messing with a bone so I used a teardrop ham and it tasted really well. I had absolutely no problems with cleaning pans afterwards- I did not use a "traditional" roasting pan, but used french corning roaster so that might have made the difference. This is not only good to eat warm but makes wonderful sandwiches later too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dickinson, North Dakota, USA
Living In: Bismarck, North Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2006
I used this recipe on a ham from a Russian Boar I shot this year. I thought it was great and very easy to make. "Two thumbs up".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 84) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Versatile Chicken Salad
Versatile Chicken Salad

Pile it into a tomato half, load it into a wrap, or spread it on bread. Chicken salad does it all.

Beautiful Broccoli Salad
Beautiful Broccoli Salad

Broccoli salad makes a great side dish or a light main dish on a warm night.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Baked Ham

See how to make an easy, old-fashioned baked ham with cloves and brown sugar.

Glazed Ham

Raw ham is slow roasted and seasoned with a sweet smoky sauce.

Apricot Brown Sugar Ham

An apricot jam, dry mustard, and brown sugar glaze makes baked ham special.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States