Baked Ham with Maple Glaze Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2010
I made this for the second time and made some modifications based on my previous review. If you want the maple to be more dominant than the mustard, for a 5lb ham, I'd recommend cutting the dry and dijon mustard portions in half and for the maple syrup, reduce a 1/2 cup to about 1/4 cup. Also, I definitely recommend using bourbon instead of the vinegar (I added it as I was finishing the maple reduction). The mustard was still present with these modifications, but it tasted more like a maple glaze than a mustard glaze, which was what I was looking for. This was a really big hit with everyone at Easter this year!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2010
wow! easy and got rave reviews! thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2010
All I can say is WOW! There are just some recipes where ingredients dont need any changes and this is definitely one of them!!! I did add ingredients to taste...I didnt want to take away from the taste of the ham. And I was a little nervous about all the mustard. But...there was NOTHING to be nervous about...my ham came out tender..the skin crispy goodness....my family and KIDS LOOOOVED it! Its NOT as spicy as you will think its gonna be. So..just go with it and dont change a thing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lucy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New Baltimore, Michigan, USA
Living In: Elizabethtown, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2010
I used this glaze on a really expensive, very good bone-in, not spiral cut ham. It was very good, but I am not sure if it was the glaze or the ham. It made the outside of the ham sugary and delicious, but the inside did not really pick up the maple flavor. I really don't believe in basting anyway.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lrconner

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Gaithersburg, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2009
Too mustardy for me. I cut it with some honey.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LADYSLEW

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Frederick, Maryland, USA
Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2009
very good on a spiral ham
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hamden, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Providence, Rhode Island, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2009
As others suggested, I used bourbon instead of vinegar and it was marvelous. I also used hot Asian mustard powder instead of the traditional English powder and it just gave the glaze a hint of a kick. My husband became very protective of the bottle of bourbon I brought home. He pictured me pouring the whole bottle over the ham. When I explained that I only needed a couple of tablespoons, he relinquished it and had a drink. Thank you Michelle, this was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dianemwj

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Burbank, California, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2009
This was an awesome ham. Everyone loved the flavor. Will use this recipe as my ham glaze staple.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa H

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2009
I made this for the family and everyone enjoyed it. I will be making this many more times.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Busymantis

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2009
This recipe is awesome! I had a 4 pound spiral sliced ham. I followed the directions exactly as written...oops! No I didn't! I substituted 1+ Tbsp Jack Daniels for the vinegar. Okay, other than that I followed the recipe exactly. It rocked! Everyone loved it and I can't stop eating it. Thanks for a true keeper!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JEANNIED59

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Columbus, Ohio, USA
Living In: Gahanna, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 82) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Baked Ham

See how to make an easy, old-fashioned baked ham with cloves and brown sugar.

Glazed Ham

Raw ham is slow roasted and seasoned with a sweet smoky sauce.

Apricot Brown Sugar Ham

An apricot jam, dry mustard, and brown sugar glaze makes baked ham special.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States