Baked Ham with Maple Glaze Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2010
I used this glaze on a really expensive, very good bone-in, not spiral cut ham. It was very good, but I am not sure if it was the glaze or the ham. It made the outside of the ham sugary and delicious, but the inside did not really pick up the maple flavor. I really don't believe in basting anyway.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lrconner

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Gaithersburg, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2009
Too mustardy for me. I cut it with some honey.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LADYSLEW

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Frederick, Maryland, USA
Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2009
very good on a spiral ham
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hamden, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Providence, Rhode Island, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2009
As others suggested, I used bourbon instead of vinegar and it was marvelous. I also used hot Asian mustard powder instead of the traditional English powder and it just gave the glaze a hint of a kick. My husband became very protective of the bottle of bourbon I brought home. He pictured me pouring the whole bottle over the ham. When I explained that I only needed a couple of tablespoons, he relinquished it and had a drink. Thank you Michelle, this was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dianemwj

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Burbank, California, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2009
This was an awesome ham. Everyone loved the flavor. Will use this recipe as my ham glaze staple.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa H

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2009
I made this for the family and everyone enjoyed it. I will be making this many more times.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Busymantis

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2009
This recipe is awesome! I had a 4 pound spiral sliced ham. I followed the directions exactly as written...oops! No I didn't! I substituted 1+ Tbsp Jack Daniels for the vinegar. Okay, other than that I followed the recipe exactly. It rocked! Everyone loved it and I can't stop eating it. Thanks for a true keeper!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JEANNIED59

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Columbus, Ohio, USA
Living In: Gahanna, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2009
This was a really great glaze for the Easter ham I just made. I happened to have some Jack Daniels around so I used that following some people's suggestions for adding bourbon or rum, and it seemed to work well. I ended up covering the ham while I baked it (I was making potatoes at the same time and didn't want to dry it out), so when the ham was done I took all the liquids on the pan, added some corn starch, and boiled down to a glaze that I poured over the sliced ham. I was making this up as I went along but it really made the ham extra tasty. We usually have ham with cherry sauce, but we didn't have access to cherries and this was a great substitute.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2009
this recipe was great easy and tasty
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2009
I changed this recipe fairly dramatically, but it came out delicious. I used maple syrup, Wild Turkey, and yellow mustard. Served it for Christmas Eve dinner and it was a success.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Manny
Home Town: Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 79) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Baked Ham

See how to make an easy, old-fashioned baked ham with cloves and brown sugar.

Apricot Brown Sugar Ham

An apricot jam, dry mustard, and brown sugar glaze makes baked ham special.

Slow Cooker Ham

This recipe for Easter or Christmas ham takes “no fuss” to the extreme.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States