Baked Ham with Maple Glaze Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2011
I soooo love this recipe; it certainly is different from the other "Honey" Glazes. I've made this 2x on family occassions; once following the recipe exactly. On the other occassion, I didn't have any red wine vinegar and used of all things - Rum. Huge Reviews from everyone who ate. Not one spec of meat left. This does make one hell-of-a mess of your pan; so if you don't want to spend days cleaning out your pan, use several layers of foil. The more the better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2011
I changed the vinegar for Jim beam as well as some of the other comments suggested. I also double the glaze and marinated the ham for one hour. It was superb. I would agree more mustard next time and deeper cuts so the flavor really saturates the meat. I served it with a horseradish and ground mustard sauce to the side which gave it the perfect kick. Ham was very juicy and flavorful. Definite a nice change from the sweet Easter ham.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2011
I made this for Easter dinner and it was fantastic -- all of my guests raved about it (even the ones who aren't all that crazy about ham). The meat was incredibly juicy and the glaze gave it enough sweetness and tang, but not too much. I don't have a decent roasting pan, so I just laid my ham cut-side down on a small rack in a foil-lined broiler pan, and it worked just fine. My ham was eight pounds, so I increased all of the ingredients by 50% and extended the cooking time accordingly. Once the meat thermometer topped 130, I took the ham out to rest for about 20 minutes. I'll definitely make this again, hopefully well before next Easter!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Padawan60

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Birmingham, Michigan, USA
Living In: Royal Oak, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck
Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2010
This was a tangy glaze and the mustard was really strong. It was alright but didn't get any comments and no one had seconds. I had fun trying a new recipe! Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2010
I Followed the submitted recipe as presented. My ham was a bit larger than 5 pounds and so I increased the ingredients some to account for that. The ham turned out very,very well. The glaze permeated through the meat and was not the least bit over bearing or too sweet. The fam loved it and, well, that big, old ham is gone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brian

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Davenport, Iowa, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2010
OMG how delicious the glaze was!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by myy

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2010
Excellent. Just the right sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2010
I didnt have red wine vinegar and dont particularly like mustard so I instead used a couple splashes of white vinegar and sangria red wine. It came out very delicious and we enjoyed it very much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2010
Very tasty, and very simple!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2010
I substituted prepared yellow mustard for the dry mustard (w/the ratio of 1 Tablespoon prepared for 1 teaspoon dry).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 84) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Baked Ham

See how to make an easy, old-fashioned baked ham with cloves and brown sugar.

Glazed Ham

Raw ham is slow roasted and seasoned with a sweet smoky sauce.

Apricot Brown Sugar Ham

An apricot jam, dry mustard, and brown sugar glaze makes baked ham special.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States