Baked Ham with Maple Glaze Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2007
This is a very easy recipe to make and satisfied even the pickiest of eaters. When I made it I made a bigger ham- and made a bit more than twice the sauce. It worked really well. I don't like messing with a bone so I used a teardrop ham and it tasted really well. I had absolutely no problems with cleaning pans afterwards- I did not use a "traditional" roasting pan, but used french corning roaster so that might have made the difference. This is not only good to eat warm but makes wonderful sandwiches later too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dickinson, North Dakota, USA
Living In: Bismarck, North Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2006
This was fabulous. My husband and kids loved it! Will definitely make it again. Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2007
This was delicious. Very easy to make, too. I used this recipe for our Christmas ham.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by What a Dish!

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2007
For this recipe, use a generous tablespoon of bourbon and omit the red wine vinegar. I used this recipe for sliced baked ham (fully cooked hickory smoked pit ham) that I served to more than 150 people at a function. Each piece of ham was layered in a pan and got a generous helping of sauce in which to marinate through the heating process, which was kept covered on low temperature to heat. For serving, I spashed each plate with a line of the sauce to punctuate and freshen the flavor. This recipe was a huge success...and everyone wanted to know what the "secret" ingredient was!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
96 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: San Pedro, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2008
This recipe totally kicked the honey glazed ham recipes out of my recipe box. I'm with Travelerdude though; must substitute Jim Beam for the wine vinegar. We've got the authentic maple syrup straight from trips to Quebec and you've gotta use good quality syrup. This is SO simple and SO tasty - no way to mess it up. THANKS for a great dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: High River, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2006
I used this recipe on a ham from a Russian Boar I shot this year. I thought it was great and very easy to make. "Two thumbs up".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2008
We smoked our Easter ham, so putting the glaze on during cooking was a bit difficult. After trying (without much success) I decided to just save the glaze to serve with the ham at the table. Yummy! I doubled the recipe for an 8-1/2 lb ham and added 3 Tbsp of fresh squeezed orange juice and about 2 Tbsp of honey. This was an easy and delicious glaze.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by StayHomeCook

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Escondido, California, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2008
This was the first time I ever made a ham. I did it just as written and it came out great - delicious and tender. Everyone loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2008
Delicious! I had a small cooked ham that I used for this recipe. It came with a brown sugar packet and I used that as well as some pineapples for the top. In addition, as suggested I substituted bourbon for the vinegar. I have been married for nearly 15 years and I had no idea that my husband liked ham so much. Maybe it is because I never used this recipe! He devoured it at dinner, I used some to make his breakfast, and he was begging for ham sandwiches. How could I have not known he liked ham? :) Thank you for a great recipe and next time I will omit the brown sugar packet and follow it, but still use the bourbon (one of his favorite ingredients).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Warwick, New York, USA
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2008
I'm reviewing this a little late. Made this for Easter dinner for my husbands side of the family. Rave reviews from everyone! I followed travelerdude's suggestion and used bourbon. Wow!! It just really added another layer of flavor. I think this has become the newest tradition in our family. Definitely making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 80) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Baked Ham

See how to make an easy, old-fashioned baked ham with cloves and brown sugar.

Glazed Ham

Raw ham is slow roasted and seasoned with a sweet smoky sauce.

Apricot Brown Sugar Ham

An apricot jam, dry mustard, and brown sugar glaze makes baked ham special.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States