Baked Ham with Maple Glaze Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2008
Delicious! I had a small cooked ham that I used for this recipe. It came with a brown sugar packet and I used that as well as some pineapples for the top. In addition, as suggested I substituted bourbon for the vinegar. I have been married for nearly 15 years and I had no idea that my husband liked ham so much. Maybe it is because I never used this recipe! He devoured it at dinner, I used some to make his breakfast, and he was begging for ham sandwiches. How could I have not known he liked ham? :) Thank you for a great recipe and next time I will omit the brown sugar packet and follow it, but still use the bourbon (one of his favorite ingredients).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Warwick, New York, USA
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2008
This was the first time I ever made a ham. I did it just as written and it came out great - delicious and tender. Everyone loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2008
We smoked our Easter ham, so putting the glaze on during cooking was a bit difficult. After trying (without much success) I decided to just save the glaze to serve with the ham at the table. Yummy! I doubled the recipe for an 8-1/2 lb ham and added 3 Tbsp of fresh squeezed orange juice and about 2 Tbsp of honey. This was an easy and delicious glaze.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by StayHomeCook

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Escondido, California, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2008
I made a variation of this for a ham over the holidays. We added some honey..it was pretty tasty. Next time we won't shy away from the strong flavors in this recipe...it really does add great flavor to the ham.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Olympia, Washington, USA
Living In: Kirkland, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2008
This recipe not only was tasty, but quite simple. To avoid that messy roaster, I put a small amount of water in the bottom, place a sheet of foil with the edges folded up (to keep most of the water off), put the ham on it, and followed the basting instructions. It turned out very well. Caution - a lot of grocery store hams have quite a bit of water added, so this suggestion may not work for you. We have our own butcher shop and don't have this issue.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2008
This recipe totally kicked the honey glazed ham recipes out of my recipe box. I'm with Travelerdude though; must substitute Jim Beam for the wine vinegar. We've got the authentic maple syrup straight from trips to Quebec and you've gotta use good quality syrup. This is SO simple and SO tasty - no way to mess it up. THANKS for a great dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: High River, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2007
This was delicious. Very easy to make, too. I used this recipe for our Christmas ham.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by What a Dish!

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2007
I thought this was just okay. There was something off about the flavor. I think from now on I will just stick to a little dijon mustard and lots of brown sugar. Sorry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2007
This was a good glaze. My ham was almost 10 pounds, so I had to bake it longer and I think I should have put it in an oven bag. It got a little crispy. But I thought the glaze added a nice, subtle flavor and was very easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PULLEYHEATHER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Collins, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2007
I love this glaze. Sweet with the tangy vinegar! Love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 79) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Baked Ham

See how to make an easy, old-fashioned baked ham with cloves and brown sugar.

Apricot Brown Sugar Ham

An apricot jam, dry mustard, and brown sugar glaze makes baked ham special.

Slow Cooker Ham

This recipe for Easter or Christmas ham takes “no fuss” to the extreme.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States