Baked Ham with Maple Glaze Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Photo by Traci-in-Cali
Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2008
This was delicious! I've never ventured from our traditional pinapple topped ham until this recipe!.. When mixing the glaze for the top, I almost didn't add the dry mustard because I'd already put in the dijon and I thought it smelled too mustardy, but I did add it and I'm so glad!... While cooking the mustard mellows and the sweet of the maple syrup comes through... I was wishing for more mustard taste as I ate it!.. Next time I think I'll score the ham and let the glaze marinade for a few hours, then cover with foil for the first 30 min. then uncover to nicely brown for the rest of the time!...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
97 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Traci-in-Cali

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2008
THE BEST! THANK YOU!THANK YOU! THANK YOU!If I even mention this in front of my step-son, he gets excited. He loves ham, but with this he REALLY LOVES HAM! Made it for the family when they were over and my sister-in-law loved it. And she doesn't like ham. DON'T CHANGE A THING!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PATTEG

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cranford, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2008
Excellent! Made a very tastey ham with great leftovers. With the left overs made Delicious Ham and Potato Soup from this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Scarborough, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Whitby, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2008
Very tasty as is, will make it again and won't change anything.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cheri

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2008
I'm reviewing this a little late. Made this for Easter dinner for my husbands side of the family. Rave reviews from everyone! I followed travelerdude's suggestion and used bourbon. Wow!! It just really added another layer of flavor. I think this has become the newest tradition in our family. Definitely making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2008
Delicious! I had a small cooked ham that I used for this recipe. It came with a brown sugar packet and I used that as well as some pineapples for the top. In addition, as suggested I substituted bourbon for the vinegar. I have been married for nearly 15 years and I had no idea that my husband liked ham so much. Maybe it is because I never used this recipe! He devoured it at dinner, I used some to make his breakfast, and he was begging for ham sandwiches. How could I have not known he liked ham? :) Thank you for a great recipe and next time I will omit the brown sugar packet and follow it, but still use the bourbon (one of his favorite ingredients).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Warwick, New York, USA
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2008
This was the first time I ever made a ham. I did it just as written and it came out great - delicious and tender. Everyone loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2008
We smoked our Easter ham, so putting the glaze on during cooking was a bit difficult. After trying (without much success) I decided to just save the glaze to serve with the ham at the table. Yummy! I doubled the recipe for an 8-1/2 lb ham and added 3 Tbsp of fresh squeezed orange juice and about 2 Tbsp of honey. This was an easy and delicious glaze.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by StayHomeCook

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Escondido, California, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2008
I made a variation of this for a ham over the holidays. We added some honey..it was pretty tasty. Next time we won't shy away from the strong flavors in this recipe...it really does add great flavor to the ham.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Olympia, Washington, USA
Living In: Kirkland, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2008
This recipe not only was tasty, but quite simple. To avoid that messy roaster, I put a small amount of water in the bottom, place a sheet of foil with the edges folded up (to keep most of the water off), put the ham on it, and followed the basting instructions. It turned out very well. Caution - a lot of grocery store hams have quite a bit of water added, so this suggestion may not work for you. We have our own butcher shop and don't have this issue.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 84) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Baked Ham

See how to make an easy, old-fashioned baked ham with cloves and brown sugar.

Glazed Ham

Raw ham is slow roasted and seasoned with a sweet smoky sauce.

Apricot Brown Sugar Ham

An apricot jam, dry mustard, and brown sugar glaze makes baked ham special.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States