Baked Ham and Cheese Party Sandwiches Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2012
I have this exact recipe from a neighbor, minus the onion. Her recipe calls for making this up the day before, covering with foil and refrigerating overnight. When ready, bake at 350 for 25 minutes with foil on, then uncover and bake an additional 5 minutes. Always a hit and prep the day before makes it ideal when having company.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Brandon, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2012
These were very good but I prefer the version with garlic. That might be because I had to leave off the onion due to dietary restraints, but overall these were tasty. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JARRIE

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2012
These are awesome! I made a similar recipe last year, but didn't have all the ingredients. I used the calculate button to change it to 6 servings, as I only had 6 mini rolls. I used reduced fat cheese and whipped butter to lower the sat fat some. Mine did cook in about 10 minutes, but that may be because of the size rolls I used. Next time I will cover them with a piece of foil for part of the baking time. The topping is great and very flavorful on these sandwiches. They also work excellent for lunches and road trips. TY
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Blender Woman

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2012
The flavor was right. My only complaint is that the baking time toasted the bottom of the buns a little too much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Columbus, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2012
24 was too many for us so next time I will cut the recipe in half and take someones advice to sprinkle with garlic powder next time. Yummy recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Masa Bamm

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2012
If I could give these babies a 10 I would. I made them for our annual superbowl party and they were a hit! Three people asked for the recipe. I followed other reviewers advice and used the smaller King Hawaiian Rolls and left them in a block while removing the top from the bottom. I added a little mayo, then the ham, then cheese. Put the top back on a cut each sandwich seperately and placed on cookie sheet about 1/2 inch apart. Baked for 10 minutes with foil on and 10 minutes uncovered. They were amazing! These will now be a staple at all of our parties!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tampa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2012
This is a family favorite. I often add a 1/3 cup of brown sugar to the sauce which is good too. I also use dinner rolls or Hawaiian rolls.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2012
This is always a football game favorite for guests! I also use turkey and cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dariqueen

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2012
I made these for NYE and they were a hit!! I didn't follow the recipe to a T, only because I had a thousand things going on and I screwed up! The must have is King's Hawaiian rolls. Don't buy the knock off's make sure it is that brand, it gives the sandwiches the sweet that everyone loves. The other thing I changed on purpose is I used provolone cheese only because my hubby doesn't like swiss...but I think it would be good either way. I forgot to add the minced onion and would be good with or without. I also added a little more worcestshire only because I looked at the recipe wrong. I lined a cookie sheet with foil, put the bottoms of the rolls down first (I did slice them in half while they were all connected like others suggested), I put the cheese next, topped with ham that I doubled over to fit the bun (I used a good maple ham), then I put on the top of the bun. I spooned a tablespoon of the mixture on top of each bun and placed a sheet of foil loosely over the top. The buns were buttery from the mixture and just a little crusty, but nice and soft inside. I did have plenty of butter mixture left over, so I think it is safe to cut back on the butter mixture ingredients or there is plenty to add another 12 sandwiches or so. Yummy! UPDATE: Do not use all of the butter mixture...it makes the rolls too buttery. I would use a teaspoon to drizzle a spoonful on top of each one and probably no more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2011
I made these sandwiches last night to take to a Christmas party in our new neighborhood where we just moved and were meeting our neighbors for the first time. The sandwiches were a huge hit! They were delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RSHRODE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sulphur Springs, Texas, USA
Living In: Rockwall, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 87) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Ham and Cheese Appetizer Sandwiches

Ham and melted Swiss combine with a tangy spread on soft party rolls.

Hot Ham and Cheese Sandwiches

Hot ham and Swiss sandwiches with a tangy horseradish mustard dressing.

Mini Ham and Cheese Rolls

These easy and tasty little sliders are perfect for game day.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States