Baked Ham and Cheese Party Sandwiches Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2013
OMG these were SO SO good! I'm really not crazy about ham and I can't stand Swiss, but ye gods! I couldn't stop eating them! Definitely going on my Holiday luncheon/app menu this year. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Litegal1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anaheim, California, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2013
Had these at a volunteer luncheon and went looking for an excuse to make them again. You'd be inclined to think they would be soggy or mushy but they were anything but.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2013
Just made for grandson birthday party. Everyone loved them. Definitely will make again. I made a few with turkey and provolone . They were great too!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CHERYLBH
Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2013
Delicious! I used the King's Hawaiian mini rolls, left out the poppy seeds, used only 1/2 cup of butter, & actually rehydrated my minced onion. Also, switched the amounts of 2 ingredients: used 1 1/2 TEAS. of Dijon mustard (not a mustard fan) & used 1 1/2 TBSP. Worcestershire sauce... they were perfect! I made 60 of these lovely little sandwiches for a ladies event at church & they went over very well!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHERYLBH

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2013
I wanted to have this made before my guests arrived so I put it all together, covered with foil and refrigerated for about 3 hours ... baked for 10 minutes with foil on and 10 minutes with foil off. I had to substitute sesame seeds for the poppy seeds and omitted the onions. As suggested in other reviews, I reduced the butter to 1/2 cup and added 2 T. brown sugar to the "sauce". Delicious. Will definitely be making these again. These were all eaten before I even thought about getting a picture! Too bad because they looked lovely. Thanks LisaT for this great twist on ham and cheese sandwiches.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Patches

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2013
I add 1/4 cup brown sugar....delicious. I also use Hawaiian rolls. I stack the sandwiches with a few pieces of ham and cheese, I don't skimp. This is a meal or appetizer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LSTOOLMILLER

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2013
I have made these several times for many different occasions and they are ALWAYS a hit! Using the Hawaiian roles gives them just the little sweetness to balance out the mustard. I get several requests for the recipe and when people find out how simple they are to make they are surprised. I have added red roasted peppers to the toppings for a little added color and texture also.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Holland, Indiana, USA
Living In: Evansville, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2013
Had to make 2 batches of this cause the first ran out in the first 10 minutes. Easy to assemble and the flavor is awesome! I too used the Hawaiian King rolls to many oohs and aahs!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2013
These were awesome. I took them to game night and they went quickly. The next day, my son asked if there were any of those sandwiches left. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Anaheim Hills, California, USA
Living In: Castle Rock, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2013
So good! Honestly, I was doubtful. I thought they would be soggy but not at all. The butter, with the onions and poppy seeds, makes them crispy and flavorful. I scaled the recipe to 4 and used a small glass dish for baking; baked uncovered for about 12 minutes; used whole wheat rolls that were labeled 'cocktail buns' but they were really more like dinner rolls to me. [Cocktail buns I've used in the past were individual and smaller, not baked together in a kind of sheet. I'm guess I'm the oddball who doesn't really care for King's.] I also crushed the dried minced onion a bit, as my onions looked more chopped than minced. We will likely make these often!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Thisni Caza

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hamilton, Kansas, USA
Living In: Topeka, Kansas, USA

Displaying results 41-50 (of 93) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Ham and Cheese Appetizer Sandwiches

Ham and melted Swiss combine with a tangy spread on soft party rolls.

Hot Ham and Cheese Sandwiches

Hot ham and Swiss sandwiches with a tangy horseradish mustard dressing.

Mini Ham and Cheese Rolls

These easy and tasty little sliders are perfect for game day.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States