Baked Ham Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2007
This was my very first fresh baked ham and I have been cooking for 20 years! I loved the simplicity of this recipe, as I don't like too many flavors getting in the way of the flavor of the ham. My whole family enjoyed this recipe very much and I would make it again. I made a few changes, partly out of necessity. I did not have enough whole cloves so I mixed a scant 1/2 teaspoon of ground cloves in with the brown sugar and the kids and I pressed the mixture all over the ham. I then baked it as instructed, but did not cover till later as my lid wouldn't fit over the ham. I later used foil as it started to brown too much. I think next time I will cover first then uncover to brown at the end. It made a lovely sauce that I served over boiled potatoes. Thanks for a good recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2007
I cooked Thanksgiving dinner for the first time this year of 2007 by myself. Thanks to your recipe it was a success. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angela A.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2007
I'm not known for being a cook (unless heating up frozen dinners and preparing trader joe's bagged stirfry is cooking), and I've never in my life baked a ham, but I got tagged for Thanksgiving dinner with less than a day's notice and tried this recipe. I followed it exactly, and the ham was amazing; no one could believe it, least of all me! A friend of mine, who is an excellent cook and who makes holiday meals every year, said it was the best ham she'd ever tasted.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2007
I used a smoked ham so really only had to heat it through and not 'cook' it so I put it in for 2 hours. I skipped the cloves because I didn't have any. The ham turned out moist and tender with a hint of swweetness. Very simple to do.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
597 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Living In: Kingston, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2007
We aren't really big on cloves at my house, so I left them out and just moistened the sugar and rubbed it in, then covered with foil. I haven't had ham like that since my Greandmother made it! What a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2006
Used this for my Easter ham, and it was delicious! I got rave reviews all around. After I packed on the brown sugar, I then drizzled a little bit of honey over it and it was fabulous, but I skipped the cloves. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
92 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2005
This recipe is too easy and totally delicious. I used a pre-cooked ham so I added the juices from the bottom of the package.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
152 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2006
My hubby made this on Easter and it was delicious. My family has used this recipe since forever but never tried it myself b/c I thought the pineapple would be over powering..I was wrong!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joanna

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bronx, New York, USA
Living In: Webster, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2006
First ham I have ever made - it was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2003
It was the best easiest ham recipe that i could find. It was so easy even I could do it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joey Abel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Verona, New York, USA
Living In: Herkimer, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 92) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Baked Ham

See how to make an easy, old-fashioned baked ham with cloves and brown sugar.

Baked Ham and Cheese Party Sandwiches

Try these game-day ready ham and cheese sliders.

Glazed Ham

Raw ham is slow roasted and seasoned with a sweet smoky sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States