Baked Ham Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2011
This is a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2011
I've always made my ham this way except I use either Vernor's ginger ale or 7-UP instead of water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2011
VERY EASY!! I doubled the brown sugar and added about 3 Tbsp of dry mustard to it. since most of the sugar fell off into the drippings/water it wasn't too sweet. i saved the drippings and made soup stock from it - it was amazing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cproulx

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada
Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2011
I followed the recipe to a tee, but I think I didn't put enough brown sugar and I also think it would have been even better if I had basted it periodically. Either that or I cooked it too long. I used a precooked ham about 10 1/2 lbs and warmed for 2 1/2 hrs...probably should have taken it out at 2 hours, but it was still excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by plawrence

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chantilly, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2011
My parents use to make their hams like this but instead of water they would use apple juice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2011
My first ham, and it was delicious! Cooked for 5 hours covered and it practically fell apart when cutting, super juicy, and had that good crunchy outside...it was very good! Cant wait to have the leftovers tomorrow!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ROO911
Reviewed: May 16, 2011
OHHHH MY GOODNESS..... made this for Easter... first time making a holiday meal for the family, (other then our household of 3...lol)..... this was outstanding.... everyone loved it!!!! will make it again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ROO911

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Danville, California, USA
Living In: Dublin, California, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2011
Just made this ham for Easter 2011 and it was wonderful. We got a half-ham bone-in (NOT spiral cut as the picture shows) at 11.65 pounds. I scored the top and sides and studded with cloves, packed on the brown sugar crust, stuck pineapple slices all over the top with toothpicks and put cherries in the middle of the pineapple slices for that retro look -- it was so pretty! The cloves really made this ham and next time I will take the extra time to stud the entire ham, underside and all. I ended up using another 1/2 cup brown sugar as well. The cooking time is dead-on. I have a convection oven which can perfectly cook a 25 pound turkey in under three hours (oven has its own meat thermometer built in so I know the second it reaches the right temp). I assumed it would make quick work of an 11.6 pound ham. WRONG. The ham is more dense so I should have considered it would take longer. At four hours it was around 150 degrees. Dinner was already an hour and a half delayed so I just decided that since the ham is fully-cooked when you buy it, it's really only a warming issue. The ham was nicely done -- heated through -- clear to the core despite being under 160. It was moist and tender too. Like others, I added orange but also pineapple juice to water in the bottom of the pan. I made parmesan scalloped potatoes to go with it from my recipes site but added onion to mine. This dinner was a huge hit -- got raves about the ham. We'll probably make this again next Easter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erin

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2011
Turned out great! Everyone loved it. Only had ground cloves, so dusted the top with it. Baked at 325 for 4 hours, it was only 11 lbs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Longview, Washington, USA
Living In: Vancouver, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2011
Didn't have cloves but put pineapple all over and used half pineapple juice half water. Made a great Easter ham!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tracy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Collins, Colorado, USA

Displaying results 31-40 (of 92) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Baked Ham

See how to make an easy, old-fashioned baked ham with cloves and brown sugar.

Glazed Ham

Raw ham is slow roasted and seasoned with a sweet smoky sauce.

Apricot Brown Sugar Ham

An apricot jam, dry mustard, and brown sugar glaze makes baked ham special.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States