Baked Ham Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2008
This was good. I will definately try it again. It's worth the try.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by GodivaGirl
Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2008
The halved this recipe because I had a small ham. My kids love when we use whole cloves so they can "stud" the ham! Great flavor and will be good for leftovers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GodivaGirl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Youngstown, Ohio, USA
Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2008
This was one of the best ham recipes I have ever made. My husband claims it's better than his mothers! The house smelled incredible all day too! I don't think I'll ever need to search for another ham recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2007
This was my first attempt at raw ham. It was GREAT! The flavor was unbelievable and it was so moist. I used coke instead of water and no cloves. I can't wait to make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amy beth

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Nashville, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Hermitage, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2007
We aren't really big on cloves at my house, so I left them out and just moistened the sugar and rubbed it in, then covered with foil. I haven't had ham like that since my Greandmother made it! What a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2007
I'm not known for being a cook (unless heating up frozen dinners and preparing trader joe's bagged stirfry is cooking), and I've never in my life baked a ham, but I got tagged for Thanksgiving dinner with less than a day's notice and tried this recipe. I followed it exactly, and the ham was amazing; no one could believe it, least of all me! A friend of mine, who is an excellent cook and who makes holiday meals every year, said it was the best ham she'd ever tasted.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2007
This was my very first fresh baked ham and I have been cooking for 20 years! I loved the simplicity of this recipe, as I don't like too many flavors getting in the way of the flavor of the ham. My whole family enjoyed this recipe very much and I would make it again. I made a few changes, partly out of necessity. I did not have enough whole cloves so I mixed a scant 1/2 teaspoon of ground cloves in with the brown sugar and the kids and I pressed the mixture all over the ham. I then baked it as instructed, but did not cover till later as my lid wouldn't fit over the ham. I later used foil as it started to brown too much. I think next time I will cover first then uncover to brown at the end. It made a lovely sauce that I served over boiled potatoes. Thanks for a good recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2007
I cooked Thanksgiving dinner for the first time this year of 2007 by myself. Thanks to your recipe it was a success. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angela A.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2007
I used a smoked ham so really only had to heat it through and not 'cook' it so I put it in for 2 hours. I skipped the cloves because I didn't have any. The ham turned out moist and tender with a hint of swweetness. Very simple to do.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
576 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Living In: Kingston, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2007
I guess I'm in the minority on this one. My ham turned out really good, I just really couldn't taste any of the brown sugar. I was expecting the ham to have a sweet taste but it didn't. I skipped out on the cloves since my family doesn't like them. Thanks for sharing though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 92) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Baked Ham

See how to make an easy, old-fashioned baked ham with cloves and brown sugar.

Apricot Brown Sugar Ham

An apricot jam, dry mustard, and brown sugar glaze makes baked ham special.

Tangy Honey Glazed Ham

Pineapple juice, honey, and Dijon create a tangy glaze for baked ham.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States