Baked Ham Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2008
This was good. I will definately try it again. It's worth the try.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by GodivaGirl
Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2008
The halved this recipe because I had a small ham. My kids love when we use whole cloves so they can "stud" the ham! Great flavor and will be good for leftovers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GodivaGirl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Youngstown, Ohio, USA
Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2008
This was one of the best ham recipes I have ever made. My husband claims it's better than his mothers! The house smelled incredible all day too! I don't think I'll ever need to search for another ham recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2007
This was my first attempt at raw ham. It was GREAT! The flavor was unbelievable and it was so moist. I used coke instead of water and no cloves. I can't wait to make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amy beth

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Nashville, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Hermitage, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2007
We aren't really big on cloves at my house, so I left them out and just moistened the sugar and rubbed it in, then covered with foil. I haven't had ham like that since my Greandmother made it! What a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2007
I'm not known for being a cook (unless heating up frozen dinners and preparing trader joe's bagged stirfry is cooking), and I've never in my life baked a ham, but I got tagged for Thanksgiving dinner with less than a day's notice and tried this recipe. I followed it exactly, and the ham was amazing; no one could believe it, least of all me! A friend of mine, who is an excellent cook and who makes holiday meals every year, said it was the best ham she'd ever tasted.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2007
This was my very first fresh baked ham and I have been cooking for 20 years! I loved the simplicity of this recipe, as I don't like too many flavors getting in the way of the flavor of the ham. My whole family enjoyed this recipe very much and I would make it again. I made a few changes, partly out of necessity. I did not have enough whole cloves so I mixed a scant 1/2 teaspoon of ground cloves in with the brown sugar and the kids and I pressed the mixture all over the ham. I then baked it as instructed, but did not cover till later as my lid wouldn't fit over the ham. I later used foil as it started to brown too much. I think next time I will cover first then uncover to brown at the end. It made a lovely sauce that I served over boiled potatoes. Thanks for a good recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2007
I cooked Thanksgiving dinner for the first time this year of 2007 by myself. Thanks to your recipe it was a success. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angela A.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2007
I used a smoked ham so really only had to heat it through and not 'cook' it so I put it in for 2 hours. I skipped the cloves because I didn't have any. The ham turned out moist and tender with a hint of swweetness. Very simple to do.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
597 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Living In: Kingston, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2007
I guess I'm in the minority on this one. My ham turned out really good, I just really couldn't taste any of the brown sugar. I was expecting the ham to have a sweet taste but it didn't. I skipped out on the cloves since my family doesn't like them. Thanks for sharing though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 92) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Baked Ham

See how to make an easy, old-fashioned baked ham with cloves and brown sugar.

Baked Ham and Cheese Party Sandwiches

Try these game-day ready ham and cheese sliders.

Glazed Ham

Raw ham is slow roasted and seasoned with a sweet smoky sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States