Baked Haddock with Spinach and Tomatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by CrystalCooks
Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2009
Hubby really liked it, I found it a little bland, think I'll add more spice/herbs next time. We enjoyed it on a bed of rice with asparagras and greens beans. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CrystalCooks

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Collingwood, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Kingston, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2009
The taste and presentation were great. My son said it was the best fish he had ever tasted. I was disappointed though, because the fish more or less poached in the juices created by the spinach and tomatoes. I would like a dryer finished dish. That is why I gave this dish 4 stars instead of 5.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2010
Very tastey! The 2 qt dish seemed too small for all of the ingredients -will go bigger next time. A great way to enjoy haddock and get your veggies too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2010
Tarragon, nutmeg & thyme - what a brilliant combination !!! Tasting as I worked my way through the directions, I found it a bit bland for out tastes, so I added 2T freshly minced garlic to the onion for last 2 min of sauté, added 1-1/2 T of capers & 1/4 C white wine to sauce, used 28 oz can diced tomato & increased the thyme to 1 tsp & tarragon to 3/4 tsp. Marvelous dish; definitely making again! Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carnivore

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2010
I made this and it was delicious! I used a can of diced tomatoes with basil, garlic, and oregano for added flavor. I found that when I measured the remaining juice from the can of the tomatoes, there was hardly anything, so I just used a medium can tomato sauce and added some sauteed onion, garlic, and the tarragon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2010
I made this except i opted out o making the additional tomato sauce and it was really delicious a great way to do fish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Adilah

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2011
I made this last night & it was good but it didn't have a whole lot of flavor, even after making some changes that others suggested. I think it has potential though! I sauteed the onion in butter & added about a TBSP or a tad more of fresh garlic, added the spinach & nutmeg. Then I put the fish in the dish & sprinkled onion powder, cayenne pepper, & salt on it. Next time I will add garlic powder & regular pepper as well. I put the spinach mixture all over the fish & baked it. When I made the sauce I added 1/4 cup of white wine to it. Next time I'll use a can of tomato sauce & double it cause there wasn't nearly enough! I think with the extra changes it could be really good & healthy dinner :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nrsejessica

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2011
This was so easy and so delicious! I took the advice of some reviewers and added a little more spice and used wine instead of water for the sauce. Doubled the sauce. Yummm! Served with wild rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2012
YUM! Just finished a lunch made with this recipe. I made a few changes though. One because I was hungry and in a hurry when I was making it so I read that the thyme and tarragon went in the acutal dish. I put the herbs in with the tomatoes and it was amazing. I also added chopped garlic, sliced mushrooms and the juice a myers lemon to the spinach mixture, as well as double the nutmeg...I love nutmeg and probably would never think to use it with haddock. After I spread the diced tomatoes on, I sprinked the tarragon and thyme on top of that and baked it. For the sauce I used green onions and added cayenne pepper and left it otherwise spice free. I loved the juice in the dish, I am already thinking of ways to use it in a fish soup. I served it with turnip mashed with butter and seasoned it with sea salt, cracked pepper and just a hint of thyme...plus 1 tsp of maple syrup just for fun. Way Delish!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2012
This was great. I was worried it would be too bland so I added lemon juice to the spinach mixture and some salt and pepper to the sauce and it worked out perfectly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 20) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Baked Haddock

Parmesan cheese adds a nice flavor to these baked haddock fillets.

Easy Baked Tilapia

Prepare a healthy and delicious meal in just a handful of minutes.

Baked Dijon Salmon

A simple and delicious way to make fresh flavorful salmon in the oven.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States