Baked Green Tomatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2013
Thought this would be a great alternative to fried green tomatoes, but didn't care for these and couldn't finish them. I wish it would have worked because I like the idea of lower calories.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2011
I found these to be too dry. I saw a previous comment that said hers were too greasy, but I didn't get that since there is no oil or grease in the recipe. Perhaps it depends on the tmayders (tomatoes).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2011
I had high hopes for this recipe and thought it would be a good alternative to frying the tomatoes. I added my usual favorite spices to give it a kick, and threw them in the oven. There was nothing to make the coating adhere and crispy - it was like dumping cornmeal on a cooked tomato. Perhaps mixing a small amount of oil in the mixture of cornmeal and spices might help with the texture. I'll give that a try next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by vanessa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2011
Much better than fried! Crispy, not greasy. I cut my tomatoes about 1/4 inch but will make them a bit thicker next time. I let the slices rest for awhile, then shook them in a bag with the corn meal (+ seasoned bread crumbs), and flipped them 1/2 way through baking. They were crisp on the outside and perfectly done on the inside. We'll make these again before all the green tomatoes are gone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2011
I did not care for this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by C. Davidson

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bradford, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Hendersonville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2011
This was good but did lack in seasoning, so I will add a little garlic or onion powder next time, but overall good for a baked tomato, thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brownstown, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CookinBug
Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2011
Yum! I didn't slice most of my tomatoes thin enough so the majority didn't get crispy, but thye were still tasty. They need to be pretty thin, like less than 1/4", to get them really nice and crisp. I served them with the dill sauce from Hudson's Baked Tilapia with Dill Sauce from this site. Thanks!! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookinBug
Home Town: Ithaca, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2010
this is good and even better with a few changes--spray the slices with olive oil spam and then dredge in the cornmeal--i did this by first laying all of the slices in the baking sheet--spraying them all-flipping them all-spaying other side and then dipping and cooking--add what ever spices you want --i added a smokey spice--i like the slices pretty thin
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Plano, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2010
Neither my husband nor myself cared for this. It was too sour and tasteless.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elizabeth

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Flushing, Michigan, USA
Living In: North Fork, California, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2010
The concept of this recipe is GREAT- Yes, you need to season it more but if you follow the process-slice thin, flour, egg wash, cornmeal/breadcrumbs you get a great alternative to fried green tomatoes. And they reheat wonderfully!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 29) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Fried Green Tomatoes

Watch Chef John make a Southern classic.

Best Fried Green Tomatoes

See how to make traditional Southern-style fried green tomatoes.

Best Baked Fries

See how to make crispy, crunchy, healthier French fries.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States