Baked Green Tomatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2007
Anyone who wants a great "fried" green tomato recipe that will not cover the flavor and tang of the tomatoes AND will not clog your arteries, this is it! I used the basic recipe and tweaked it to my taste--no dill, but did use pepper, salt, garlic powder and onion powder in the cornmeal, then shook just a touch of Parmesean on top of each tomato slice after placing them on the pan and giving them a quick spray of canola oil ... I thought they were divine!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
115 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ellijay, Georgia, USA
Living In: Cleveland, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2002
It was great! I made it for my mom on Mother's Day and she was thrilled!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2011
Much better than fried! Crispy, not greasy. I cut my tomatoes about 1/4 inch but will make them a bit thicker next time. I let the slices rest for awhile, then shook them in a bag with the corn meal (+ seasoned bread crumbs), and flipped them 1/2 way through baking. They were crisp on the outside and perfectly done on the inside. We'll make these again before all the green tomatoes are gone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2005
I am always searching for lowfat alternatives to my favorites. I have lost over 25 lbs by doing this. These were a little bland compared to the fried in butter kind - but when trying to remain healthy - i've learned to mix and match lower fat options. These needed a little more spice and that's it. Thanks for the recipie...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2004
A good variation on this recipe is adding dried ranch seasoning to the cornmeal mixture- it adds a bit more flavor. It's good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2011
This was good but did lack in seasoning, so I will add a little garlic or onion powder next time, but overall good for a baked tomato, thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brownstown, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CookinBug
Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2011
Yum! I didn't slice most of my tomatoes thin enough so the majority didn't get crispy, but thye were still tasty. They need to be pretty thin, like less than 1/4", to get them really nice and crisp. I served them with the dill sauce from Hudson's Baked Tilapia with Dill Sauce from this site. Thanks!! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookinBug
Home Town: Ithaca, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2009
No, it's not quite as tasty as the fried variety but the health benefits make up for the difference. I did substitute garlic salt. I have made this several times and experimented with different seasonings. A good alternative fried.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2009
I would only give this recipe four stars based on the changes I made to it, otherwise, it seems too bland, and I personally don't like a lot of dill. This recipe is definitely health-conscious, and the changes I made are not...but it's still not fried which must count for something! Instead of cornmeal, I used panko to which I added melted butter, a pinch of ground cayenne pepper and used another reviewer's suggestion of grated parmesan cheese. I dipped the salted/peppered tomato slices in an egg wash before covering with the panko mixture. I baked according to the instructions but placed the tomatoes on top of a wire cooling rack inside of a foil-covered cookie sheet. This allowed the bottoms to become somewhat crisp without having to turn over. I made these for a party and they were a big hit. Everyone wanted to know how I did it. I served them on a platter with a dipping sauce I made from a Hidden Valley Ranch mix and added a couple drops of Tobasco Chipotle Pepper Sauce for an extra kick. These are messy which I think is their only downfall, but very good. Serve them right out of the oven if you can!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2010
this is good and even better with a few changes--spray the slices with olive oil spam and then dredge in the cornmeal--i did this by first laying all of the slices in the baking sheet--spraying them all-flipping them all-spaying other side and then dipping and cooking--add what ever spices you want --i added a smokey spice--i like the slices pretty thin
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Plano, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 30) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

How to Make Fried Green Tomatoes

Watch Chef John make a Southern classic.

Best Fried Green Tomatoes

See how to make traditional Southern-style fried green tomatoes.

Best Baked Fries

See how to make crispy, crunchy, healthier French fries.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States