Baked Garlic Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2005
Absolutely love this stuff but couldn't give the recipe a 5 star because I didn't follow it. Use E.V.O.O. instead of butter....it is so much better, and I use a terra cotta flowerpot and base to make this in. Soak the pot in COLD water for 20 minutes and place the garlic (and pot) in the oven then turn on the oven....let the garlic bake while the oven is preheating. Then I let it bake for 30 minutes after it reached 350 degrees. This is the way I was taught to do this...and it works every time. Delicious with crackers or a dense bread. Thanks for the post.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
86 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Momof2

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA
Living In: Florissant, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2000
This was really yummy and quick. In lieu of the butter, I subsituted olive oil with a dash of salt. (As suggested by a previous reviewer)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
67 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2002
My husband and I really enjoyed this. I made one for each of us and we still fought over who was getting more. ; ) I cut off about a quarter of an inch off the bottom of the bulbs (the pointy end) before cooking. It was a lot easier to squeeze the garlic out the end. I think the cooking time needs to be extended to 35-40 minutes. My garlic was still a little tough. I also would dribble garlic over the top of the bulb as well as in the bottom of the aluminum foil packet. But, overall very easy and delicious. (fyi, one nice italian restaurant we go to serves a bulb of baked garlic, 3 pats of cream cheese and 5 pieces of crispy herb brushetta for 6.95. Now I can make this at home for cheap)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2003
you cant go wrong with baked garlic. i took the advice of others and used olive oil and salt. excellent. it is true, however, it takes about 40-45 minutes to get soft.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2005
Well, this was difficult to rate. Really, I think that this particular recipe deserves a three due to the fact that olive oil is what you should use instead of butter and the time seems off. But, baked garlic is so good that I upped it to four. I use olive oil and a bit of salt and snip the ends off so that the garlic comes out easy. I also invested in a small clay pot specifically designed to roast garlic, it is wonderful! I also roast garlic much longer than 30 minutes, maybe it is just my preference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kingsport, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: May 2, 2006
Roasted garlic rocks for an easy appetizer. Made 4 heads of garlic this weekend with just a drizzle of olive oil (instead of butter). I upped the heat to 400 and baked for 45 min. Mushy, but so easy then to serve/eat. I should have salted them, too, but I skipped it. Served with a ramekin of parmesan, one of olive oil with rosemary infused, and one with a ajvar (roasted red pepper and eggplant with a kick) and crusted sourdough. What I liked about this approach, is that each of my guests took a bulb onto their own plates and we finally got to use those cute little appetizer knives and forks we got for our wedding. :-) Make this one a staple -- cheap, easy, healthy, and always a winner with the guests.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BUSYBEE25

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2003
I used olive oil instead of butter. Much more traditional and healthier. Excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2003
Stick to the recipe, use butter. Olive oil can be a little overpowering, it tastes nicer with butter, and butter isn't as bad as it's made out to be.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2000
Had it not been for the butter, I would have rated this recipe even higher. Roasting is a wonderful way to prepare/serve garlic. Unfortunately, butter is really bad for your body. Why not subsitute olive oil + a pinch of salt as the necessary fat? It isn't as quick, and it's a bit on the messy side, but, your arteries will thank you, later!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2004
Superb! I used olive oil and a squirt of butter-flavored cooking spray. I absolutely agree that it needs to cook a little longer than stated - ours were perfect after 45 mins. Thanks, Joan!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Lupton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 29) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Baked Garlic Parmesan Chicken

See how to make an easy weeknight chicken dish that's a 5-star favorite.

Sautéed Garlic Asparagus

This simple method really highlights the flavor of the asparagus.

Roasted Garlic Bread

See how to make quick-and-easy garlic bread with roasted garlic.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States